We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip on Windermere Lake on a 100 year old ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere Lake Cruises

Windermere Lake Cruises
Winander House | Glebe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
+44 15394 43360
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Windermere Lake Cruises is a leading tourist attraction in the heart of the Lake District on England's largest lake. Steamers and Launches sail daily throughout the year with Summer season connections for The Lakeland Motor Museum, Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway,Lake Aquarium, the Lake District Visitor Centre at Brockhole, Fell Foot Country park, Wray Castle and Ferry House (with connecting sevices for Hilltop and Hawkshead). Combined tickets are available. Windermere Lake Cruises offer more than a ferry service. We hold private charters, lunch cruises, buffet cruises, corporate hospitality, public sailings and group travel. The perfect all-weather attraction.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Trip on Windermere Lake on a 100 year old ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Took the last ferry from Southlake to Bowness and back. Was expecting one of those new ultramodern ferry but instead, got a long old looking ferry that to my delight was the first of the ferry build around 100 years ago.

A little skeptical initially because weather was windy, cold & I don't want to end up in the water. But the ferry cuts through the water smoothly, making the journey pleasant. Even my husband enjoys the ride as he gets seasick pretty easily

One can get hot beverages below deck and the toilets are clean. The whole journey through and fro took about an hour and a half.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review of our yellow cruise & our wonderful vessel-MV Tern. Its actually 122 years old & is included on the National Historic Ships Register along with the Cutty Sark & HMS Belfast!
We dont have any tidal waves or seriously stormy weather on Windermere so the cruises are usually quite smooth even for the worse seasick traveller! and you've certainly no worries of being tossed overboard by lake conditions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    214
    35
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“How to see Windermere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A great way to get around Windermere. there are 2 types of boats which cruise at a reasonable speed giving a good way to get pictures of the surrounding hills. there are 2 routes from Lakeside to Bowness, & from Bowness to Ambleside. you can pay for a round cruise & also combined tickets with Lakeland Motor Museum, Lakeside Aquarium or the Steam Railway.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review of our attraction. We've actually more than two types of boats- we have two different types of Steamers, a range of modern launches & several lovely traditional launches as well as whole fleet of rowing boats & self-drive motor boats!
And in the Summer season there are a range of cruises including combination tickets available. The best advice i could give is to have a look at our website & explore your options before setting off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great way to see Windermere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We boarded at Lakeside and found the booking process simple and efficient and the Lakeside facilities, such as parking, toilets, cafe and shop are all very good. The boat arrived and departed on time, was clean with a good choice of seating. We booked a round trip to Bowness and we had a good choice of timings to give us plenty of opportunity to do what we wanted. We were to buy a linked ticket for the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Steam Railway which was an interesting contrast to our boat trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review of our Attraction. We hope to welcome you aboard again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

we stayed at a b,b called crompton house in windermere last year well worth staying there very good food and frendly couple.we have stay there before

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very flexible option for walkers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We purchased walkers tickets which allowed us to hop on and hop off at various points. We got on at Bowness and sailed up to Ambleside. We then transferred to a small ferry across to Wray Castle. We then had a walk along the shore to Ferry House where we got a 3rd boat back to Bowness. The walk was around 4 miles and takes around 2 hours.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your postive review of our popular Walkers ticket cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windermere Lake Cruises also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Windermere Lake Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere Lake Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Windermere Lake Cruises to your Saves list