We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere Lake Cruises

Windermere Lake Cruises
Winander House | Glebe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
+44 15394 43360
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windermere Lake Cruises is a leading tourist attraction in the heart of the Lake District on England's largest lake. Steamers and Launches sail daily throughout the year with Summer season connections for The Lakeland Motor Museum, Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway,Lake Aquarium, the Lake District Visitor Centre at Brockhole, Fell Foot Country park, Wray Castle and Ferry House (with connecting sevices for Hilltop and Hawkshead). Combined tickets are available. Windermere Lake Cruises offer more than a ferry service. We hold private charters, lunch cruises, buffet cruises, corporate hospitality, public sailings and group travel. The perfect all-weather attraction.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I think this is best done as part of a package I did the half cruise, train and motor museum. A half cruise was long enough as it was ralaxing and you have the novelty value. The staff were very helpful and the boats was clean. On two of the bigger boats on days with less favourable weather there is a indoor seating area which is heated along with a place to buy hot drinks and snacks. On the lower deck there is a bar. I think half a cruise was long enough for me personaly but the older generation would probably enjoy the full lake. There is also a commentary telling you what was on the bank on the right hand side of the boat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review of our attraction. I'm pleased you found our boats relaxing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    315
    40
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“on the boats again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

this is a favorite thing to do when we come to ambleside of me and my wife joan we find it quite relaxing cruising down the lake on the big boats but not quite so much on the smaller ones.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review of our attraction. We look forward to welcoming you & Joan on our boats again in the not-so-distant-future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my partner rented our own boad on the Lake, just for 1 hours was great value for money. /would definitely advise if you visit Lake Windermere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank for you lovely review of our self drive/row boats- Glad to hear you had such great fun being your own skipper for the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn, cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Warm and friendly staff, Cabin boat around the lake cost £22 for 2 adults and 1 child for an hour, life jackets and information provided before boarding,beautiful scenery and easy to manage boat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of our self drives/row boats & your kind comments about our staff-I'll let them know!! I'm pleased you had great fun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“boat trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

well worth a trip on lake windermere, go on one boat and come back on another. prices in the tea rooms are expensive £11.00 for 3 teas and one coffee (not big cups either)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of our attraction-I'm pleased you enjoyed the cruise. As with most tourist destinations, prices in cafes, hotels etc can vary greatly- Most eateries around here display their menus outside their establishment & it can be worthwhile to check out the prices before entering. Alternatively, if the weather is favourable, there's nothing better than a picnic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windermere Lake Cruises also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Windermere Lake Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere Lake Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.