We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere Lake Cruises

Windermere Lake Cruises
Winander House | Glebe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
+44 15394 43360
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windermere Lake Cruises is a leading tourist attraction in the heart of the Lake District on England's largest lake. Steamers and Launches sail daily throughout the year with Summer season connections for The Lakeland Motor Museum, Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway,Lake Aquarium, the Lake District Visitor Centre at Brockhole, Fell Foot Country park, Wray Castle and Ferry House (with connecting sevices for Hilltop and Hawkshead). Combined tickets are available. Windermere Lake Cruises offer more than a ferry service. We hold private charters, lunch cruises, buffet cruises, corporate hospitality, public sailings and group travel. The perfect all-weather attraction.
runcorn, cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Warm and friendly staff, Cabin boat around the lake cost £22 for 2 adults and 1 child for an hour, life jackets and information provided before boarding,beautiful scenery and easy to manage boat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of our self drives/row boats & your kind comments about our staff-I'll let them know!! I'm pleased you had great fun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    271
    39
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“boat trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

well worth a trip on lake windermere, go on one boat and come back on another. prices in the tea rooms are expensive £11.00 for 3 teas and one coffee (not big cups either)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of our attraction-I'm pleased you enjoyed the cruise. As with most tourist destinations, prices in cafes, hotels etc can vary greatly- Most eateries around here display their menus outside their establishment & it can be worthwhile to check out the prices before entering. Alternatively, if the weather is favourable, there's nothing better than a picnic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“WE ARE SAILING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Boarding the vessel we made our way to the seats on the upper deck which let us have a panoramic view of this beautiful lake.
On casting off we were treated to a first class commentary by the skipper, who drew his passengers' attention to the numerous salient points on the shores in the way of grand houses, ruins, converted boathouses (now holiday homes) and even explained the operation of the cable powered car ferry on the lake!
The vessel has adequate facilities on board should they be required.
All in all a most enjoyable 45 minutes experience on a beautiful day in breathtaking surroundings.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our attraction & your photos are fantastic! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the cruise & the commentary. We hope we can welcome you aboard again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been on better ferry trips, it was ok but the commentary was not very good what I could hear of it, the volume needed turning up, and didnt give a lot of information.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our attraction. We love to hear any feedback from our passengers & take onboard (no pun intended) your comments regarding the volume & content of the commentary & have advised our Operations team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I took a lake cruise across windermere to Ambleside. The tickets were easy to buy and the staff explained the cruises and timetable.

The actual cruise was lovely as was very sunny and clear. Plenty of room on board and the driver pointed out places of interest on the journey.

However we did feel it was a little expensive at £25 for 2 adults and 1 child to cruise 15minutes. Especially when it was just 5-7min drive but still a great experience

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLCcontact, administrator at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of our attraction especially the lovely positive comments & five-star rating!
The only thing that baffles me is your comments regarding the duration of your cruise- you said you sailed from Windermere(which I assume you mean Bowness-on-Windermere) to Ambleside- this is our red cruise & the price you mentioned would be correct for this cruise. However the sailing time is 30 minutes each way (to drive it would be approx 15mins) ?? they do say time flies when you're having fun!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windermere Lake Cruises also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Windermere Lake Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere Lake Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.