We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinegar Jones

Vinegar Jones
Royal Square | Bowness on Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DB, England
015394 44846
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Fish and chips were one of the best I've ever had.... Just over £5 for a supper and worth every penny. Lovely crispy, light batter and beautiful fresh fish with fat chips. Will definately be back!... and they leave the salt and vinegar on the counter for you to season your own food! Perfect for a sunny afternoon on a bench by the lake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review. The team at Vinegar Jones work hard to ensure that we give value for money and friendly service. This type of review makes it all work while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    35
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Biggest rip off ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came to bowness Sat 5 July and after eating in another establishment we had an indian takeway back at home waiting to be eaten.
Our nephew decided he wanted chips with this and so off we went in search of a portion of chips to take back with us. £2.80 for a portions of chips was robbery without the violence. The portion was so small we were absolutely disgusted and will never go here again. Ever.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We apologise for your distressing experience. We train our staff in portion size and strive to give value for money. If you are ever in the area again we will try to rectify this unfortunate incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fish and chips by the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

What could be nicer on a lovely evening that getting a portion of fish and chips and sitting down next to lake - perfect. Great fish and chips. Freshly cooked fish and chips. Only a small queue but went down quickly. We will be back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. The team at Vinegar Jones work hard to give the best value for money,cleanliness and helpful service. Reviews like this make it all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A very popular fish and chip shop in the centre of Bowness on Windermere. There is seating in the back and also limited table and chairs outside the front of the shop. The fish and chips were very tasty and on a lovely sunny evening we sat outside. Within 5 minutes walk from the shop is benches and seats overlooking Lake Windermere so another ideal place to sit. Jjust watch the swans.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. The team at Vinegar Jones work hard to make your visit the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Good Fish and Chips. Excellent value. Well located and very friendly staff. Well done. yum yum yum yum

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the time taken in posting your review. Our mission is to establish tradition of the freshest fish and chip takeaway. Sustainable fish and the freshest local sourced potatoes. Thank you from the VJ Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinegar Jones also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Vinegar Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinegar Jones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.