We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable evening meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoons Indian restaurant

Monsoons Indian restaurant
Sunbeam buildings, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AU, England
01539444162
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A lovely cosy restaurant tucked away in a little side street directly opposite Ruskins Inn Pub after the Royalty Cinema offering, Dinner Takeways & Home Delivery Service.DIRECTIONS: Walking up the hill from the lake, 2nd right immediately after the Cinema.
1 review
“enjoyable evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have visited this small restaurant with my husband while visiting bowness. It was really great experience. I was not really big fan of the Indian cousine but my husband loves it. Although I wasn't really happy about going there at first I quickly change my mind. The staff was extremely helpful and made my dinner the way I really enjoyed it. It was really nice and tastefull and not even extremely spicy as I don't like chillies and I am fussy about creamy and milky dishes. I recommend this restaurant to people who want to have nice dinner with great company.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    21
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stumbled across this place, went in, it wasn't busy but the food was fantastic. Friendly staff, and clean. Would definitly go again, don't walk past it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Nice food and excellent service give there new restaurant a try lake raj very good with great food
and staff

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The service was good and fast but the food was not anything special. We had Chicken Korma and Chicken Buhna (even though I wanted the lamb but was not asked...) And they were just not that flavourful. I would not go here again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monsoons i, Public Relations Manager at Monsoons Indian restaurant, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback. Our chefs have over 30 years in experience cooking authentic indian food and we are surprised that you have commented that our food was not to your liking. We have numerous returning customers who find our food cooked to exceptional standards , at the point of receiving your meal if you wanted lamb instead of chicken you should inform the waiter and we would have provided you with lamb. We look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

great food, excellent service; up a side road so not somewhere you would usually stumble upon but very glad that we gave this restaurant a try

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoons Indian restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Monsoons Indian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoons Indian restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.