We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Angel Inn to your Saves list
The Angel Inn
Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We had a lovely 2 night stay in this BB. The room was nice for the price (clean and comfortable) and with ours being situated at the hotel rear was very quiet. The breakfast is ok but the food in the evening is fabulous. The young waiting staff were excellent and very friendly. During our stay we had the opportunity to sit around the reception rooms enjoying a few glasses of wine, but I think this place would be very busy during the summer months and perhaps if sitting out wasn't an option you may have to go elsewhwere. The place looks fab ( I think )... a bit different from the usual places to stay in the lakes and we would stay again without hesitation next visit to Bowness.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    155
    28
    17
    13
See reviews for
54
313
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west yorks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We just needed a place for the night, so walked in off the street and were offered a room in the main building and a slightly more expensive room in the gatehouse. We took the gatehouse room, which was best described as a mini-suite, with a bedroom, separate bathroom and lounge with sofa & TV, even a small private garden area. Food and service were excellent, a slight moan about the long wait for breakfast but it was worth waiting for. Staff always pleasant and friendly. Just one very minor problem, the shower head needed replacing - it was taped up with insulating tape which meant you couldn't take it from its holder.
All in all it was an excellent place for a short break - we didn't have time to try out the leisure centre but we would definitely go back.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

what a fantastic place rooms where very modern with plasma tv, staff very helpful cumberland breakfast was excellent and the resturant on saturday night was simply fantastic. The use of the steam room at the local health club was great a nice way to unwind from the night before. if your going youll enjoy it .

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

We stayed here for a couple of days in February and are already thinking about our next visit. Having read the reviews we booked directly with the inn and requested Room 14 in the gatehouse,just at the end of the car park(another welcome feature) It was on the upper floor with a lovely sitting area overlooking the lake.We were glad of this because this is an inn with rooms and does not have a separate lounge for guests.It is obviously extremely popular as it was fully booked for dinner both nights.Breakfast is lovely sitting (in the winter)in front of a log fire reading all the papers provided after a huge cooked meal.
We walked down the hill to the lake-4 minutes -and went on a few lake cruises.
This is an inn with rooms and is a jewel in the crown in the area.We looked at many other places as we want to celebrate a special family occasion.I will book the 3 rooms in the gatehouse so we can all meet together in our room in the evening.
In the summer this will be very popular as there is a large garden area overlooking the lake.It is a lovely place to call in for a drink.
We are very much looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

This place is in a good location and very tastefully decorated ( both downstairs and in the bedrooms) but the check-in experience left a bitter taste in our mouths. Instead of being made to feel welcome, we were read out a list of rules and potential fines that we would incur should we break any of the rules. I am not sure what guests they are used to accommodating but the manner in which we were checked in, suggested that they were convinced most people were desperate to trash the place. Even though we dont smoke, the girl insisted on making sure that if we were "caught" smoking in the room, we would be fined and charged for dry cleaning and had to sign a piece of paper to that effect!. I have never experienced such a rude check in. I note the previous review also stated that charges would be made if any bedlinen was dirtied!
The food was great ( we ate here both nights and breakfast was lovely) and most of the other staff were pleasant enough but they really need to sort out their customer service if they want people to return. IF the customer service improved, I would say this place could be excellent.

  • Liked — good food
  • Disliked — rude service and too many rules!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

After looking at hotels in Windermere and at some of the prices we were quoted, which were ridiculous, the highest being £800 for two nights, my husband, two children, grandma and myself arrived at the Angel Inn for a two night break. It is nicely situated on a hill overlooking Lake Windermere and at the centre of all the shops etc. We stepped through the front door of the hotel to be greeted by a lovely log fire surrounded by some very comfortable leather sofas and a very welcoming bar, which my husband had already spotted! We decided to have some lunch and were shown into the main restaurant area which is split level with wooden flooring throughout and very modern with a lovely atmosphere. The children were given small activity bags which was lovely for them and a nice touch. We ordered sandwiches from the menu - but they were no ordinary ones - all made with local produce and were delicious - a reasonable price too! After a large glass of Chardannay and a pint of the local beer for hubby all was well with the world!

During our whole stay all the staff were absolutely lovely - always smiling and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble - even when I asked for a jug of milk to make some tea in our room - a credit to the hotel.

Up the stairs and to the left through some doors was our room which was the Family Room with a seperate room with two twin beds for the children (which they loved) and they had a flat screen TV on the wall too! The room was overlooking the garden area, nicely decorated and beautifully clean. It is situated next to their laundry room but there was little noise from it. The bed was really comfortable.

Grandma had one of their superior double rooms which again was nicely decorated and very clean with a bright en-suite bathroom with shower.

We ate every night at the Angel and the food was lovely - again, all local produce and beautifully presented - they have a brilliant chef - even breakfast is gorgeous and the bacon and american pancakes are not to be missed! There is a nice children's menu too with a varied selection of favourites and more and as my children commented "the best ice cream ever!" The restaurant was full every night we were there which is quite telling.

We were sad to leave the Angel after having such a lovely time but we WILL be back sometime I am sure of that!

  • Liked — Everything was so clean, the staff were lovely, food excellent
  • Disliked — There was nothing I disliked
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

We ate at The Angel Inn during a recent trip to the Lake District following a recommendation from TA.

The food was lovely. In addition to their regular menu they had plenty of specials to choose from. In the end we both had steak because it's not something we really ever eat at home. My fillet was the best I've ever eaten. I asked for medium and it was lovely pink and juicy inside. My husband had a well done sirloin with Diane sauce and he really enjoyed it too. They were both served with chunky chips (Jenga style!), mushrooms, tomato and watercress.

We had garlic ciabatta to start which was really fluffy inside. After a long wait (at our choice) after our main course we shared a chocolate cheesecake that was very indulgent and delicious.

The service was prompt and discreet.

Overally, you get what you pay for. It is expensive if you think of it as "pub food" but it's definately a cut above the rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.