We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Angel Inn to your Saves list
The Angel Inn
Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
stoke on trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

Our stay at the Angel Inn was wonderful and would definately recommend. Standard rooms are small in size but very clean and well maintained. Staff at the Angel Inn are very friendly and do everything to make your stay memorable.
The food at the Hotel is also very good. I really couldnt fault the place and very reasonably priced for Windermere!!

  • Liked — Lounge Area with big open fire
  • Disliked — (If I had to pick one and its very minor) - Bed a little squeaky
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    139
    27
    16
    13
See reviews for
51
285
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

From the moment we arrived at this hotel to the moment we left it felt like a wonderful experience.
When you enter the hotel there is a lovely warm ambience, the staff are helpful and friendly, the surroundings a warm, contemporary and inviting and the room was lovely.
My friend and I checked in easily and then ordered two drinks and sat in front of the big roaring fire reading all the Sunday papers. We then decided that the food menu looked so nice that we would eat in the hotel - the food was delicious - we had the steak and it was all cooked to perfection and the servive excellent.
We then chilled out for a while in our immaculate room with lovely furnishings and then popped out to the Hole In the Wall for some excellent folk music,
Arrived back at the hotel and once again sat in front of the fire and ordered two Harvey Wallbangers which we then took to our rooms and drank in bed!!!
The breakfast the next morning was cooked to perfection and they had a lovely buffet which included fresh fruit, yoghurts and chocolate croissants as well as full English if you desired
The staff were excellent and we were very sad to leave. This hotel has everything you want and more
We will be staying again soon for longer next time !

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

After staying in bowness for many years, in different b &bs and hotels. Decided to try the angel. It was more expensive, etc.
Knew we would be going to a good establishment.
Was extremely pleased with all of it. Couldnt falter anything.
The room very modern, clean, spacious, view over part of lake.
Hotel in central position, staff very friendly. Breakfast good, lots of it ! nice bar, area with fire, conservatory, lots of room to sit outside at tables (watch the world go by) tranquil. Free car park.
There were even more expensive rooms (which we will book one next time). Well worth the money.
Will be returning soon hopefully.

  • Liked — modern room
  • Disliked — bit noisy our room above the bar area
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POLESWORTH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at THE ANGEL 28th - 31st August 07. Our room was in the gatehouse. We had a great time...our room was very large with a sitting area and lake views. The food was excellent and everywhere very clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had an absolutely fantastic stay there and we will be back !


LINDA & TONY LAW
POLESWORTH.
NR TAMWORTH

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

Just got back - having visited on the basis of their official website
and some positive Trip Advisor reviews. Very disappointed. Looks okay
from a distance but downstairs lounge area which had the cheap/
cheerful refurb is very small. Outside generally needs work - especially windows.

Personally, won't be going back. But if you're used to places where clientele need to be told not to bring their drugs onto property, and wear shirts, it may be for you!

  • Disliked — it tried to be something it wasn't
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaconsfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Angel inn, especially after reading all the brilliant reviews on trip advisor. We booked a large double and were presented with room 16 in the Gate House, which may have been refurbished as in so much as the walls had been painted, but the bathroom was disgusting not been touched for at least 20 years.

Although in their defence our complaint was taken seriously and we were offered two other doubles in the main house, nice but tiny and then we finally settled on paying an extra £15 per night to stay in room 14, again in the gatehouse, but much bigger with views of the lake.

Although the bathroom was much better and modernised, it seemed to have been done on the cheap, it was huge and could have been fantastic but they just seemed happy to settle with ok. Four tiny towels, no bathrobes.

Shampoos, shower gels etc were very sparse and the last day they weren’t replenished it was obvious they had run out, which quite frankly shouldn’t happen.

The first night we ordered drinks from the bar and took them back to our room, but the empty glasses were never taken away by the cleaners and were left in our room while the room had been cleaned twice for the rest of stay.

Breakfast, while it was well presented and tasted great when it finally arrived, it was slow, but worst of all for hotel guests, you only have a 1 hour time window from 8.30 to 9.30am, obviously because they want to get us all done and out before the local tourist market descend on them so they can make some cash. But really we’re on our holidays and didn’t want to have to be up at 8am every day.

Really to sum up, if this hotel was half the price we probably would have raved about it. It is a room above a pub after all, and they are demanding boutique hotel prices. But to charge these sorts of prices, more care and attention should have been paid to the details and not have been refurbished on the cheap.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cheap Refurbishment
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

just returned from a second visit to the angel inn this year, and it wont be our last.
The location is fantastic with a great area to sit outside and chill.
It is very child friendly with a great family room.
The pancakes at breakfast are to die for very yummy.
p.s the airshow was great too.

  • Liked — very clea and comfortable
  • Disliked — noisy pipes
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.