We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location, good view and peaceful sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakbank House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oakbank House to your Saves list
Oakbank House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Location, good view and peaceful sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great location ideal access to bowness shops and ferries; rooms comfy; good breakfast and service. can't really fault anything - parking is tight to get around the back of the guest house ensure you're reversing skills are up to scratch!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    48
    32
    12
    9
See reviews for
8
130
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in a beautiful traditional room with the most amazing views across the lake. The location was perfect and only a 2 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants.
The breakfast was tasty and we liked the toffees in the lounge as we always stopped to have a coffee before going o our room.
The room was nice and opening the curtains to a view like that each morning made it feel special.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yes room 5 had a cracked window pane!! in the bottom sash window that moves!!!!! but this did not detract from the excellent hospitality given by Karen, Dan and their team. They certainly made sure we had everything we needed. The room was serviced every day to a very high standard, the breakfast was quality every day and Karen and her team made sure every aspect of our stay was 100%. Swimming, sauna (out of order at the time), jacuzzi and fitness equipment is available at the Windermere Hydro which is 150yds up the hill, no problem!! Car parking adequate if you can negotiate the steep hill. Well worth a trip.

Room Tip: Room 5 gets alot of the days sunshine so can be very warm if the window is shut. Some rooms have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for 4 nights in Oakbank.We booked with Karon room no 6,approx two weeks previously,and were shocked to be told on arrival that this room was not available the first night even though we had booked it.We were shown a much smaller room with a window cracked(Karon said it had been done by a guest that day,yet on leaving on the 4th day it still had not been repaired).We refused to accept this room and were then shown a much better room(no 3 ) for the first night
We would question the 5 star rating given by AA,and the Cert of Excellence 2013 awarded by Trip Advisor,based on the following observations-
-.Plastic throw away cups in the bathroom,
-Only one small bar of soap given to us for the 4 days,on the 4th day we had to ask for a 2nd bar.
-One hand towel provided,
-Shower in the bathroom leaked onto the floor,
-Windows in room no 6 were stuck and could not be opened from the top.
-Ensuite in room no 6 was very small and tight,
-Room no 3 had no bedside lights to accomodate guests who might like to read in bed,just ceiling lights,
-From the outside the premises needs repainting and all windows improved/repaired
-No real apology given for the non availablility of room no 6,just a suggestion from Karon that we could "slap her wrist" for it-not what we wanted to hear or expected.
-Dining room whilst very clean and bright has very small tables and hard to fit a breakfeast on

To counter act any perceived negativity in the review we would consider the establishment to be well run, efficient,and quiet at night.We do not however consider it merits a 5 star rating,or a Certificate of Excellence,and if in Bowness again we would look elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Danny & the rest of his family were lovely, bending over backwards to make our stay enjoyable, Danny even getting my wife's favourite champagne ready in our room for our arrival. Breakfast is excellent. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I spent a couple of days at the hotel on a tour of the lakes, really nice place to stay staff very friendly and accommodating, room was very good and breakfast was excellent really set me up for the day, I would definitely come back.

It is in a excellent location and plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

I highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just come back from staying here after the bank holiday weekend we thought the place was fantastic! Breakfast was great with alot of choice on the menu and the staff couldnt do enough.Its right in the heart of Bowness which was a bonus great view of the lake from the bedroom window.We will definatley be back we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakbank House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakbank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.