We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White House bar and rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The White House Hotel to your Saves list
The White House Hotel
Robinson Place | Lowside, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
berkshire
1 review
“White House bar and rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Tucked away in the centre of Bowness, small but beatifully appointed boutique style rooms above the bar and restaurant. Tasty food beautifully presented by cheery helpful staff. excellent value and a real find amongst some over priced and old fashioned options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    32
    28
    15
See reviews for
21
110
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

A lovely bar with modern rooms. Our room was large enough to include a sofa. rooms are very clean with central heating that you can control. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice on offer. For a ten pound deposit we were provided with a parking pass which saved us alot of cash and messing around with pay and display. The pass covers car parking for the south lake district. You are provided with a leisure pass for a nearby hotel leisure centre and have free use of the facilities there. The bar is situated close to restaurants and pubs if you don't want to eat there every night and is central for shopping and the lake.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Lovely weekend in The White House. Food is superb - certainly not the traditional menu. Breakfast was choice of full english or two fish dishes, each of which was lovely. Dinner menu was good choice of beautiful food. The bedroom was quite large (room 7) included a sofa. Fresh clean linen - shower room a little small but adequate. The staff were polite and attentive. Close to centre and lake but nicely situated for peace and quiet. Certainly not your traditional b & b but a nice contemporary hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

lovely little b&b, clean, great breakfast, friendly staff. Only downside was our room was very small, we have been coming to Bowness for quite a few years and stayed in various b&bs, but never had such a small room,we were in room 3, however the room next to ours was much larger as we noticed as we past when it was being cleaned!! wish we had had that one!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Myself, my husband and our friends stayed at this B&B from 31st October 2008 until 2nd November 2008. We decided to stay here after reading some good reports on Trip advisor. All I can say is that they can’t have stayed in bedrooms 1 & 2 and the staff must have changed since then!!!

We were expecting to be greeted by warm friendly staff (like trip advisor reports suggested), but we found them to be cold, sarcastic and not at all friendly. Maybe the B&B is now run by new management, but they weren’t at all helpful. Everything seemed to be too much trouble and it would certainly put us off from either recommending it or staying here again. At breakfast we asked for more coffee and milk and the head waiter slammed it down on the table and huffed and puffed at us! He’s obviously in the wrong job and obviously isn’t a morning person! If we’d have stayed at this B&B for longer than 2 nights then I think we would have ended up becoming depressed as the staff were miserable all the time! We have never known anything like it!

As mentioned before, we stayed in rooms 1 & 2. If you decide to book this B&B then it is definately worth requesting that you don’t stay in either of these rooms. Our bedrooms were adequate (3 star quality I’d say), but the shower-rooms were a disgrace (1 or 2 star). They were tiny and very run down. The silicone and grout was very mouldy (see pictures), our shower door didn’t shut properly and you had to really slam it, the water sprayed over the top and wet the floor and the water didn’t go down the plug very quick so you had to be quick so it didn’t overflow! There were no shelves to put your shampoo on and the towels were very thin and going thread bare in places – not good! The management need to spend some money - gut the shower-rooms and start again! There was no window in the shower room so the bedroom got condensation on the window – not very healthy at all. We were very allergic to our room due to this problem.

In comparison the dining area was superb (4 star quality) so I’d recommend that you don’t sleep here, but definately eat here. We ate here on the first night and the food was excellent. Very arty farty food. Presentation was excellent. Not cheap though. I don’t think the manager was very happy that we weren’t eating here for the 2 nights and told us good luck in finding somewhere to eat and said we’d probably end up having fish and chips on a bench if we didn’t book somewhere. We heard him asking another guest if he wanted to eat and the guest said he was going to have a wander into bowness and when the guest was walking out the Manager shouted – ‘good luck’. Very rude! He didn’t even say it in a joking way.

The breakfasts were very good. English breakfast (beans aren’t on the menu though), kippers, haddock, cereals, yoghurts and fruit juices.

The Whitehouse is situated in an excellent position in Bowness and is literally a 1 minute walk from the lake, bars and restaurants.

The car park was a couple of minutes walk away and we were given a free parking permit.

We would definately go to Bowness again, but would think twice on our accomodation.

If they just spent money on the bedrooms and bathrooms (rooms 1 & 2 anyway!) then it would be a great place to stay.

So in a nutshell - location, food and dining area excellent. Bedroom was ok, shower room and staff were a disgrace.

Our friends were of the same opinion as us.

You’d at least expect a clean fresh bathroom and friendly staff. Not too much to ask is it!

  • Liked — Dining / food & location
  • Disliked — Grotty bathroom and rude unfriendly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here for three nights over the Bank Holiday Weekend. The food was absolutely superb, a nice selection, cooked to perfection, the restaurant was very busy every night. Staff were friendly and welcoming, but the room was very disappointing, very small and in need of lots of small repairs, the bathroom particularly needed a refurbishment. There was very little storage space in the room, we ended up un-packing only the crushables and leaving everything else in the case, there was very little space to stand toiletries etc and the miror was no where near the plug for the hairdryer, all very frustrating. Next time we visit Bowness we would most certainly eat here again, but find somehwere differant to stay.

  • Liked — Superb food
  • Disliked — Size and standard of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed here on a Sunday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

The White House had been recommended to us by a fellow TA member and we weren't disappointed.

The White House is tucked in behind St Martins Church just a short stroll from the delights of Bowness and the Lake. Which gives you a excellent location to enjoy you visit to Bowness

Having only 6 rooms the White House is a very intimate and has been completely decorated throughout in a modern contemporary style.

Our room was a little small but well finished having a LCD DVD TV Kettle Alarm Radio and a selection of toiletries. I should say that I had opted for the cheaper of the rooms and only booked 2 weeks before.

What does set the White House apart from any other Inn / Pub in the area is the food. We had booked the DB&B option where you select from a set menu with approx 6 choices for each course. The flavours and presentation of the food have to be experience to be believed. Certainly not the usual pub menu this is restaurant food at is very best.

  • Liked — Location and Food
  • Disliked — Small Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Address: Robinson Place | Lowside, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.