We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel...Paradise in the lakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex to your Saves list
Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex
Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel...Paradise in the lakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and my partner visited here on a Sunday night staying in the Orchid room. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly young lady on reception who gave us a tour of the hotel having not stayed here before. We were then shown to tho Orchid room and left to relax whilst letting us know if we needed anything we could just call on reception which was nearby. We spent most of the afternoon relaxing in the beautiful outdoor hot tub which is very private and has an overhead cover in case of rain...luckily not needed as the weather was glorious! The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom with spa jacuzzi bath and large shower was beautiful with double sink and fresh towels to hand with beauty products for us to use. The fireplace on the wall (you would not put your hand in it even though you know it's not real looks so realistic) was gorgeous and the crackling sounds add to the relaxation vibe. The bed was comfortable and the TV and music system were excellent. In the morning we went for breakfast where you could help yourself to a continental buffet which had lots of choice including prosecco that you could help yourself to! We had some cereal and then ordered the full English breakfast which was plentiful and extremely tasty! checkout went without a hitch much like the night away! this is a beautifully relaxing hotel where you get a warm welcome, we will definitely return, hopefully sooner rather than later!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    31
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
1
142
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we Arrived to the moment we left the staff were kind,friendly and helpful and the room itself was beautiful. Spent two hours in the spa bath and indulged in a few drinks and nibbles from the hotel!

Already dropping hints to return for my birthday next year

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Luce, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Suite - PERFECT
Hot tub - PERFECT
Staff - PERFECT
Spa bath with sunken in tv - PERFECT

My wife and I stayed here on Monday 20th April and loved it that much we never moved from our suite from the minute we checked in until we left. The hot tub and spa bath were just so relaxing we had a wee wine or 4 and totally chilled out.
Could not speak highly enough about the room or staff or location.

Derek & Jessica Murphy - We will be back soon. Thank you very much

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband & I visited for our 1st year wedding anniversary/late honeymoon. We stayed in the love hide, which is based in the attic, the room is amazing, we had a big bathroom, which included a large spa bath and a tv in the wall, we were so impressed. Breakfast was amazing, the pool is brilliant, staff are lovely and welcoming! Simply couldn't fault this hotel at all, they thought of everything. Highly recommended. Well worth the money.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had been wanting to visit this hotel for a while now, mainly because of the idea of having a private hot tub sounded amazing and it was!

We stayed in the orchid room which was well decorated and really comfortable. Although it is right next to reception, there are two doors before going into the room so it does make it feel more private. The windows in the room did look into the car park, which we knew before booking through doing research so we just had to close the blinds for privacy which was a little annoying.

The hot tub itself was very private (and very hot!) but we thoroughly enjoyed using it. We also took advantage of the amazing double bath with built in tv which was an added bonus.

We spent some time in the pool area which was really nice and well finished.

At breakfast the next morning it was ok, the food was nice but service wasn't the best. My partner ordered a coffee and whilst I got my tea, his drink never arrived & there wasn't really the opportunity to ask anyone as no one came over other than to put the plates down and rush off. It was nothing too major but just stopped it from being excellent.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed using the facilities available to you in the room.

We are sorry that the service wasn't up to our usual standard during breakfast.

We hope that we will get to welcome you both back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a beautiful hotel this is, we stayed in the Red Rose suite and "WOW" loved every minute here, total peace and relaxation was lovely, this room had a fabulous hot tub outside too, my only disappointment was that the walk to the hot tub wasn't very private but once you were in it then you had total privacy! this room also had such a fabulous bathroom too with a good sized Jacuzzi and what made it even better was the fact it had a tv on the wall beside it so you could watch while in the Jacuzzi, so between the hot tub and the Jacuzzi me and my husband were almost constantly in the water :) , the bed was a very comfortable one too, lovely themed room and very romantic, couldn't have wished for a better 40th birthday & 19th wedding anniversary surprise, its my husbands 50th in june and I would love to go again, so obviously i'd highly recommend this place, we didn't use the pool & sauna etc but it looked very nice,

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for a great review.

We are so pleased that your had an "AMAZING" time and you found the room comfortable and the facilities to your liking.

We are also pleased that you are looking at returning to us and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, what can I say but AMAZING!

We had a fabulous time.
Very relaxing.
Beautiful rooms.
Well kept.
Brilliant staff all friendly and approachable, especially Gareth & Vicky.
Breakfast was perfect.

Hotel located about 10-20min walk from Windermere Lake & the little town.

Reception have a folder full of recommended restaurants to eat at during the day/evening.

We stayed in 2 different rooms.
Both exquisite.
Really romantic, well thought out and throughly cleaned and maintained.
Jacuzzi baths what an excellent idea AND a room with very own private outdoor hot tub! Brilliant! You have extra towels and robs in room for this.

Well worth a trip away if you want some quality relaxation, privacy and romance as is an adult only hotel.

We had a dip in the pool and used the steam & sauna rooms. Lovely. You are provided with robs and towels.

There is also chance to book in for massage and beauty treatments if you fancy being pampered.

We would love to go back again if we are ever in the Lake District again.

Cannot fault this wonderful hotel. An amazing experience.

Thank you so much :)

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Aphrodite's Hotel & Spa.

What a fantastic review thank you so much we are so pleased that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the facilities on offer.

I have also passed on your comments to the staff and they were so pleased that they help to make your stay pleasurable.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex

Address: Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite's Lodge offers luxurious, romantic suites, sumptuous king sized beds, and wall-mounted flat screen TV's, some with personal hot tubs, new Villeroy & Boch spa bathrooms with large spa/whirlpool baths for 2 people, steam rooms , all with separate showers, double sinks, bathroom TV's & mood lighting. Our deluxe suites are perfect for a romantic break, honeymoon or that special occasion in one of the most beautiful parts of England. Many rooms have outside garden areas and luxurious Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, plus elegant decor and stylish furnishings. Our New Love Suite Collection includes The Love Haven, The Love Nest, The Love Shack Cabin, The Love Suite, The Orchid & The Red Rose Suite which offer the ultimate in romance, luxury and indulgence. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed, all of our rooms and hot tub suites offer the utmost luxury to couples looking for a romantic stay in Windermere. All guests can enjoy use of the hotel spa facilities which incorporates an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and pool fountain. We also have 3 beauty and nail treatment areas where we have wide choice of pampering beauty treatments available at extra cost. The Aphrodite's Hotel is ideally situated in a tranquil setting less than a 5 minute drive into Bowness on Windermere where you will find the lake with boating facilities, plenty of restaurants, wine bars, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodites Lodge
Aphrodites Hotel With Pool And Spa Complex Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.