We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex to your Saves list
Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex
Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very high standard all round. We stayed in the 'Tarzan' room. Wall was decorated very nicely with fur and bamboo. Staff were very friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. Room had its own hot tub with an excellent view overlooking the beautiful garden. Breakfast was good, there was plenty to choose from and all looked delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your break away with us and thank you for your lovely comments. It is nice to take advantage of all the facilities while you stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    31
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
1
141
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Me and my new fiance have just returned from an amazing relaxing weekend! We stayed in the Red Rose suite and on arrival the room was stunning setting the perfect scene for my proposal! The room was immaculate, the staff were extremely friendly and helpfull and even helped me in my proposal by agreeing to carry out my request of a letter being printed and left lying on the extremely comfortable king size bed! The hot tub was brilliant even though the weather was grim, we still enjoyed being kept warm by the champagne and the hot tub! Watching tv in the whirlpool bath was a delight too! If i was to be picky the room was very warm as someone above mentioned even with the radiator turned off as the towel heater in the bathroom would not turn off. The breakfast in bed was good however both mine and my fiances black pudding was stone cold like it had literally come out the fridge and on to the plate. The room is right next to reception so can be a little awkward entering and exiting the room. The bluetooth sound bar in our room was great but i dont think the people in the room upstairs appreciated my taste in music as my phone kept pairing with theirs rather than my own but that wasnt something i was concerned about :) As i said this is just being picky at what is otherwise a flawless place to stay! I would definately recommend this place for a romantic weekend and I am 100% certain we will be returning again for a look at some of the other rooms!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your lovely comments following your recent break away with us. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend and that your proposal went well. We have passed on your comments about the heating and the soundbar. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

stayed in the red rose room it was lovely, beautiful furnishings, comfy bed, amazing service. Hot tub was lush as was the mazing bathroom and whirl pool bath. Breakfast was great and everyone there was lovely. This was all spoilt however by the fact soon tried to get get my husbands phone through an open window after trying the french doors.......our fault you might say well true we had the window open however in our defines the rooms are very warm so we needed some fresh air. Unfortunately this meant a very broken nights sleep and unlikely we will book that room again. The staff member on was supportive and the police were called however the thief was long gone by then. So would have given it a five and the fact they got a four is beyond their control - maybe more climate controlled rooms. Oh and one oner minor niggle the wi fi was great on day 1 on day 2 after the systems had been changed it was a nightmare and needed to be logged in again every hour

Room Tip: unfortunately red rose room is a little hot if you are a women of a certain age and as you can see o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Owner at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your time spent with us. We do apologise for the problem you encountered, which after much investigation with the police and footage from our CCTV camera from the driveway entrance was actually a delivery which was trying to be made from one of our suppliers. He has sincerely apologised, he was simply trying to find an open door/window where he could deliver not realising we were not open 24 hours on front desk. We are so so sorry you were inconvenienced, but we are glad we did come to a conclusion and that the matter was nothing suspicious and was definitely not anyone trying to break into the hotel. We have never in all the time we have owned the property had any problems in this manner. The rooms all have central heating which you can adjust from 1 to 6 on your radiators, sometimes we do have guests who choose to turn off the heating, however maybe you didn’t do this? The new Wi-Fi has been put in place for stricter security measures, the system is slightly more complex to access the internet, which we were very happy to show you when you asked, and will time out if not active. We do hope that the event of your second evening would not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Exceptional cleanliness and quality throughout the hotel. All my special requests were met. Polite and friendly staff. Absolutely wonderful weekend. As well as the amazing 'Acacia' room with log fire, jacuzzi and outdoor hot tub... we were also free to use the pool and Sauna for the rest of the day after checking out.

Room Tip: Acacia Room on the first floor was very quiet and had the unique combination of logfire, jacuzzi, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your special break away with us, we feel we have completed our task when people take away special memories to look back on. Thank you for your lovely comments, it is nice to use all the facilities whilst you stay, many regular guests come to us early to use the facilities and have treatments in the spa both before check in and after check out. It is so nice to unwind and relax that many people just don’t want it to end and are disappointed to be going home. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I Stayed Here With My Mom As Boyfriend In The End Could NOT Attend. It was a competition win luckily as I would of never been able to afford it so I am lucky to have experienced it. And my was it beautiful. The staff were so friendly, the rooms and bathroom out of this world. Clean and luxurious. The cleanliness of the hotel was top notch. Maybe I'm just easily pleased but I would beg to differ and say that some people are just stuck up and enjoy to complain. The views were lovely the garden and water feature were soothing pool and spa was amazing food and breakfast again awesome. Loved it you guys are doing a great job. You wouldn't get that luxurious treatment at a 100 to 120 pound a night hotel and it would be basic rooms and your rooms are not basic. Possibly the rooms that have no hot tub could be cheaper to attract people like myself who can't afford that sort of price and work its way up from there to the stand alone cabins which I feel are the correct price maybe food on an evening however I was quite happy to eat out that'd how you experience what the lake has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your complimentary stay with your mum in the Red Rose and that you made the most of all the facilities. If you are looking for a less expensive room the Love Hide and Amaryllis don’t have hot tubs and are much lower in price than the others. We do hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I fell in love with this hotel as soon as I arrived. My partner had planned a surprise romantic break here recently and proposed to me during our stay. With perfect surroundings and a beautiful hotel, it really was the most amazing time of my life. When we arrived at the hotel there was a lovely young women who greeted us and gave us a tour of the stylish, well furnished facilities. We were then taken to our room (we stayed in the newly refurbished room - 'the love shack', perfect for the occasion!) We were given all the information we needed and left to explore the room! Even though we had a private lodge, separate from the main hotel, the rest of the hotel was only a stone throw away unlike some whereby the site is large and a long walk to other facilities. A cozy but spacious room, it was absolutely spotless with extras such as balloons and rose petals (a really nice and tasteful touch). There was two televisions, a log furness, comfortable furniture and a large dressing table with plenty of mirrors. The bathroom was lovely and clean, with two sinks, a shower/steam room and a large two persons bath with jets! Although we didn't make as much use of this because of the private hot tub just outside. We did not have our evening meal on site as my fiance had planned for us to eat at another restaurant however, we had paid extra to have breakfast in bed and it really was superb! It was very generous portions with fresh local meats and fresh juices. The hotel was calm, relaxing, the pool was clean and a good size and the staff were excellent. The only regret we had from our stay was not staying longer. As we made such lovely memories there, we can not wait to return to the lakes and to this hotel! I would recommend this hotel to older and younger couples for a romantic break. It is most definitely worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your romantic break away with us, the Love Shack is extremely popular being in its own part of the grounds with the outside decking area and hot tub. Thank you for all your lovely comments, we do hope to welcome you back for another romantic break in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I booked a trip for my partners 30th birthday and we couldnt have been happier with the room. We stayed in 14, great personal space and huge bathroom. Breakfast was really tasty, either full english or continental.only downside is that we didnt have a view of the lakes but it was only a short drive away.
Really clean communal areas and rooms, staff were friendly and realy polite.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your partner enjoyed their birthday celebrations. Thank you for your lovely comments, and we do hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex

Address: Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite's Lodge offers luxurious, romantic suites, sumptuous king sized beds, and wall-mounted flat screen TV's, some with personal hot tubs, new Villeroy & Boch spa bathrooms with large spa/whirlpool baths for 2 people, steam rooms , all with separate showers, double sinks, bathroom TV's & mood lighting. Our deluxe suites are perfect for a romantic break, honeymoon or that special occasion in one of the most beautiful parts of England. Many rooms have outside garden areas and luxurious Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, plus elegant decor and stylish furnishings. Our New Love Suite Collection includes The Love Haven, The Love Nest, The Love Shack Cabin, The Love Suite, The Orchid & The Red Rose Suite which offer the ultimate in romance, luxury and indulgence. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed, all of our rooms and hot tub suites offer the utmost luxury to couples looking for a romantic stay in Windermere. All guests can enjoy use of the hotel spa facilities which incorporates an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and pool fountain. We also have 3 beauty and nail treatment areas where we have wide choice of pampering beauty treatments available at extra cost. The Aphrodite's Hotel is ideally situated in a tranquil setting less than a 5 minute drive into Bowness on Windermere where you will find the lake with boating facilities, plenty of restaurants, wine bars, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodites Lodge
Aphrodites Hotel With Pool And Spa Complex Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.