We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beatrix Potter Tea Room

Beatrix Potter Tea Room
The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction | Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX, England
015394 40879
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Description: Enjoy a warm welcome & delicious home-cooked food in our family friendly Beatrix Potter themed tea room. The Peter Rabbit Kitchen Garden provides the tea room with fresh ingredients for our delicious soups, salads and cakes. Treat yourself to an afternoon tea of freshly baked scones, cakes and sandwiches whilst the children enjoy a Peter Rabbit Picnic Basket. Entry in to the Attraction not necessary to visit the Tea Room.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We always eat lunch here when we go to the lakes. We have been on several occasions and never been disappointed. There are too many cafés and tea rooms full of promise only to let you down with quality and service, this is defiantly not one of them. Keep up the good work. You deserve to be a lot higher in the trip advisor rankings, but as always people are quick to complain but not as quick to praise. We will return next time we're in the Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great little tea room to visit having been in the attraction. We always call in for a cuppa and cake after weve been in the attraction. décor is great

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“child friendly and lovely high tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

we hoped to have high tea here last year but due to bad sickness due to pregnancy we gave it a miss.

so 6 month old baby in tow we went for our high tea. my husband can only eat vegetables so i asked if they could swap the ham sandwiches with salad sandwiches. they were brilliant and had no problems with this substitute.

the high tea for two is the cheapest in bowness but there was enough to fill us both up! it came with fresy baked scones. we knew this as they were served to us warm! and a few little cakes.

its reasonable price and chold friendly atmosphere makes this a must for anyone who loves a high tea!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A surprising gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After visiting the World of Beatrix Potter attraction, no visit is complete without a visit to the tea room. In fact the cafe has its own entrance so it is possible to visit without going to the main attraction.
On our most recent visit in late December they were offering a full afternoon tea (sandwiches, salad, crisps, cakes and scones with clotted cream & jam) all served on a 3 tier cake stand with matching crockery for half price around £7.50. This was incredible value however the quality of the home made cakes were so good I would have happily paid full price.

I cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No time for tea!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Would have loved to review this tearoom but sadly unable to. Tempted by the offer on the board outside we were looking forward to the full afternoon tea experience. We sat down, there was staff behind the counter but we didn't initially realize it was not waitress service. No one thought to advise us. After a minute or two we cottoned on and approached the counter to order and the conversation went thus:-
" afternoon tea for four please"
" no"
"What do you mean no?"
" it's only available till 4 pm"
" but it is not yet 4 look the clock on the wall is clearly showing a minute or so before 4"
"No"

So we went elsewhere .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beatrix Potter Tea Room also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Beatrix Potter Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beatrix Potter Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.