We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ms Anne Adams - Tunbridge Wells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Storrs Hall to your Saves list
Storrs Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Ms Anne Adams - Tunbridge Wells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Spent two lovely days at Storrs Hall. The hotel was outstanding as were the grounds in which Storrs Hall stands. Our hotel room was pure luxury. I can not compliment the staff enough who made us very welcome, serving us beautiful high tea and freshly cook breakfasts. The taster menu lived up to its reputation and it was lovely that Conner came to our table having presented his menu. Derek was the perfect host who ensured that our expectations were not only met but were surpassed. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    64
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
57
184
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we were given a present of a champagne afternoon tea for two and were really looking forward to it. Unfortunately it was a terrible let down. The views are fantastic from the conservatory but dust and crumbs along the windowsills spoiled the 'posh' setting. The waitress whilst very nice took some reminding that we were supposed to be being served champagne. The food eventually arrived and was very disappointing for the £33 per head. Four small finger sandwiches, egg mayo, salmon, ham and chicken in a sauce (mine hadn't any chicken on it!), canapé sized quiche, scone with jam and cream, canapé sized tart, small meringue (awful) and a panacotta with tea or coffee. Definately not worth the money and I've had better afternoon tea in a cafe.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arranged through Secret Escapes - another bargain. for B & B deluxe room with lake view. Whilst we had an issue with the first room we were moved to another room very quickly and the staff could not have been more helpful.
The room we stayed in was quite simply stunning (room 3)
We ate in the restaurant a five course set menu which was excellent
The service from everyone was friendly helpful and proffesional.
We will visit again.

Room Tip: It would be difficult to walk from the hotel to another pub or restaurant but why would you want to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were booked in for a few nights but enjoyed our time so much we decided to stay another night. All the staff were brilliant but in particular Derek who was really helpful and Fred who was just lovely. We were in room 5 which was beautifully finished and a real joy to stay in - the bathroom was huge! The setting was gorgeous and we got to wake up everyday to a great view of the lake. Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Worth spending a little more for the lake view, as the hotel is right on the shoreline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Annie, thank you for posting such a positive review. It was a pleasure to say hello to the two of you during your stay and hope the journey back down south went well. The team are all delighted with your comments and we hope to see you back soon. The sun is out again!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very impressive period house offering high standard accommodation , our room was tasteful and comfortable with a state of the art bathroom ! All the food was delicious and there is a great choice at breakfast . We loved our stay and fully intend to return but the best thing about this hotel is THE STAFF !!! you are all fabulous thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for the kinds words in your review Sarah. I have shared your comments with the team who are delighted at the recognition of their efforts. Hopefully we will see you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the opportunity to stay the night recently and based on my stay thought I would share the experience.....

The quality of the hotel is second to none. The room (no 3) had the most amazing view overlooking the lake. It had recently been refurbished and nothing, but nothing, was overlooked. I've later found this is typical of this hotel chain.

The staff were extremely attentive and made sure I was looked after throughout.

The food was amazing. The best word to describe it is 'quality' and fully deserve the awards it has already received.

I'm definitely going to go back but next time on a leisure break so I can fully appreciate the experience.

Hats off to the management and all the team.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Your comments are greatly appreciated, and thank you for taking the time out to post your review. The team would be delighted to welcome you back next time for leisure as opposed to business, but either way it will be a pleasure to see you return to Storrs.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport,U.K.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the lovely Storrs Hall Hotel last weekend. Stunning views of Lake Windemere, beautiful large bedroom with sitting area, elegant bar and lounges with log fires. Most of all the wonderful food, using local ingredients and cooked and presented to perfection. Conor Toomey, the head chef has gained three AA rosettes for his food and is on the way to gaining a Michelin Star. It was an absolute delight to dine here.
The staff were friendly and helpful and although very elegant surroundings, it also had an intimacy about it.
Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Try to choose a Lake View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review Anne. Conor and his team are delighted to receive such high praise. By coincidence, he has also received a very positive review in the 'Fine Dining Guide' today who also endorsed your views. Many thanks and hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storrs Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.