We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Storrs Hall to your Saves list
Storrs Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I booked 'The Ultimate Escape' package as a birthday treat for my husband (only our fifth weekend away together in almost nineteen years!) and I couldn't have chosen better. The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. The food was fantastic - afternoon tea on arrival which was deceptively very filling, a four course evening meal (we stopped after five courses as we couldn't eat another mouthful, therefore didn't get to sample the coffee and petit fours) and breakfast the next morning - freshly made Danish, orange juice and a choice of hot food. The hotel itself was lovely and in good repair, it looked as though the outside was being refurbished. The surroundings were breathtaking - we could see Lake Windermere from our bed! I only wish we lived closer as I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay. The only thing I would do differently would be to book the afternoon tea for the day of departure rather than the day of arrival as even spreading the meals out as much as we were able, we were still too full to really appreciate the evening meal. Top marks from us.

Room Tip: Definitely worth a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and notably the dining elements.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Storrs Hall again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    64
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
57
184
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Booked to stay here via Secret Escapes and loved it. We had a champagne afternoon tea which contained the perfect amount and every piece was fantastic. The room had an amazing view of Lake Windermere and was very quiet even though the hotel seemed quite busy at breakfast the next morning. Staff were all lovely and seemed genuine. Breakfast was cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and we will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah 'E' E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us here at Storrs Hall.

The team were delighted to receive your feedback and genuinely do take great care and pride in their roles.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked Storrs hall because of the reviews and it was near where we needed to be on the next day. We had a lovely surprise when we walked into the elegant reception. Check in was slow, there is only one desk and computer and the receptionist was also booking in afternoon tea guests. We were directed to nearby seating and receptionist brought all check in paper work to us while someone took our bags to the room.
The room (38) was average, pretty and decorated with old furniture as suits the style of the building and a small window with a view of the lake. It was up 2 long flights of stairs at the top of the hotel so bear this in mind if you have mobility difficulties. The stairs and corridors were beautifully decorated and lit so it was not a difficult journey to do!
We booked afternoon tea but were not asked what kind of tea we wanted or told what the sandwiches were when we ordered. I had to find a waitress to check this out as I do not like mustard on ham sandwiches. This was catered for but we were sure we were told there was no mustard on the plate, unfortunately my husband ate the one without and I was left with the one with. Be clear on what you want at the time of ordering as it may not be explained to you before hand. It was a lovely setting for the afternoon tea and very adequate but not the best I have had. (I am a bit obsessed with afternoon teas!)
Staff were very attentive, pleasant and available throughout our stay. The décor and upkeep of the downstairs rooms were excellent, very easy to relax in. Wi-Fi was reliable when we used it in the games room and bar.
Breakfast was continental help your self, very nicely presented and a delicious cooked breakfast was made to order.
The hotel grounds were very pleasant and flat to walk round and the walk along the lake side was lovely at sunset.

Room Tip: Only saw room 38, up two long flights of stairs but these were easily climbed as they were wide. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah 'E' E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

Overall it seems that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have noted some of your comments and will be reviewing the valuable points that we can address however some of the points, as you have noted are not notable elements we can resolve ie; we are a Grade II Georgian listed mansion which does suggest that we are sadly unable to implement a lift on site.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a wonderful afternoon at Storrs, as a family treat. The tea itself exceeded expectations. I am not usually a fan of cakes, scones etc. but was soon converted. The glass of champagne with the tea was of excellent quality, as was everything on offer. The setting was delightful, with views over the Lake.
Storrs is undergoing a makeover. I personally preferred the 'shabby chic' of the previous décor and feel that the proportions of the rooms lend themselves more to large cosy settees, and armchairs you can sink into instead of the new, more modern furniture which risks giving it a bit of a corporate look.
I was delighted to see some of the same members of staff from previous visits, in particular the ever helpful, courteous and charming Fred - the staff there have always given first rate service.
The only (minor) hiccup was the time taken to answer the phone when booking - I had to ring 3 or 4 times before getting an answer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah 'E' E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us on what is clearly a return visit. Fred and the team do take great pride in their service delivery and were pleased to receive your feedback. Your reservation comment has been noted and will be addressed, in all fairness our afternoon teas have been so popular that the telephones have been ringing off the hook!.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again some time in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have just been for a night as a late Valentines present, it was a truly lovely experience with fantastic views, excellent staff especially Fred who was the most helpful and genuine man. The afternoon tea was lovely. The whole experience of the tastefully decorated rooms to the freshly made breakfast overlooking the lake made my visit extra special. I would have no hesitation in booking again I just hope it will be soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah 'E' E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went to Storrs Hall today for my birthday gift. I was bought a voucher for a gift back in Feb. I booked it a few days ago. We called ahead to check with would be ok to bring our darling daughter too. They were very helpful and informative telling us that she was welcome to share ours (she is 4) and they were happy to have her come along
.
When we arrived, despite being early, we were seated quickly and given a choice of tables with a view of Lake Windermere. We had tea in lovely pot, coffee in a heated cafetiere and an orange juice for our girl. They also brought her some sandwiches on her own dish and some duck shaped chocolate cookies. They also brought us Snakes and Ladders and jigsaws as well as a table to play them on which really kept her entertained

We were given glasses of very lovely chilled champagne and our afternoon tea consisted of cucumber, egg, smoked salmon and ham&mustard sandwiches in cute shapes as well as a warm mushroom vol-au-vent. Sweets were a lemon maderia cake slice, chocolate mousse square with berry compote, lemon treacle tart, mini dark chocolate eclair, vanilla panna cotta with strawberry coulis pot and a warm scone with jam and clotted cream. I won't pretend we didn't eat it all, but it was a perfect amount.

Not only did we have 5* food, but we received 5* service. More important though our daughter was treated extremely well and they were so kind. This is so absolutely rare, even though she is very good and well behaved. In fact they did not even charge us for the goodies she had, which was exceptionally good of them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team will be delighted to receive your feedback. All of whom take great pride in their work and personally like to see each and every guest experience delivered to the attentive, high quality service we pride ourselves upon, yet totally relaxed, warm and friendly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend have been visiting Storrs hall for weekend stays a couple times a year for the past couple years. Whenever we want a night in the lakes close by to walks but with nice surroundings and amazing food we are going to get it staying here. i have also stayed here with my mother,the whole family plan on spending christmas here we love it so much. When I heard Storrs was being taken over some months ago we were both a little worried that too much would change and the finer details like the canapés,amuse bouche and two course breakfast would diminish along with the friendly staff being replaced. I am relieved to see that they haven't and that although the decor has changed since our last visit they have still kept the traditional feel and original features. This weekend our friends also stayed with us having never been before they loved it and spoke of visiting again. In my opinion this place is excellent value for Monday.It's a little taste of quaint English luxury without breaking the bank! The bedrooms are tastefully decorated with comfy beds and homemade biscuits,delicious! The staff are attentive without being overpowering. They are also brilliant at helping provide little extra touches for special occasions,it being my boyfriends birthday this weekend they left him a card in the room wishing him a happy birthday and left the prosecco and glasses I pre-ordered out for his surprise arrival. I really cant fault the place! Our only wish was for the prunes in earl grey and granola with yoghurt to make a return at breakfast ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Storrs Hall with everyone on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you appreciate the alterations made but if I may, I would just like to inform you that the hotel is still under the same ownership of 18 years and it is purely the management that has been altered, so we haven't truly been 'taken over' as you had noted..

We are pleased that you had made a return visit and approve of our alterations as we move Storrs Hall into its new era.

Your prune and granola comment is noted and we shall look into this further.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storrs Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.