We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Food Combined with Wonderful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Storrs Hall to your Saves list
Storrs Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG , England   |  
Hotel amenities
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Class Food Combined with Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arranged two nights dinner, bed & breakfast with three other couples in November. All rooms were most comforable - great beds & bedding; ensuite facilities were excellent. The hotel has a few little maintenance matters to deals with but this did not detract in any way from the pleasure of staying at tis hotel. The accolades for the restaurant are well deserved and the service top notch provided by unbtrusive but attentive, well-trained staff.
The location is perfect for walking with some of the best lakeside views we've encountered in the Lake District. Would be ideal for any type of "get away from it all" stay for small groups or couples. We'll be going there again - as soon as possible!!

Room Tip: All rooms have lakeside views so any room allocated will be super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you recent stay with us and note your comments on your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon to Storrs Hall where you will be able to witness phase one of our refurbishment project!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    59
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
44
149
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just returned from a 2 day/night break in Windermere Hotel was perfect in always , exactly what we needed for a peacefull break
The reception fro the staff was very good and were expecting our arrival, all information regarding the hotel was clear and precise,
Room was perfect and clean,
We had a resturant meal on one night and Room service on the 2nd night both were very good and enjoyable
Breakfast was also very good with lots of choice, The porridge was best ever !!!
A Large thank you to Sarah and all the Team for making our stay perfect, Looking forward to returning in the new year and using our prize from the Xmas Cracker draw

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your short break along with your dining experiences during the stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year and hope that you enjoy your 'Qwistmas Qwacker' treat!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Elegant old-world charm. Beautifully furnished. Great location. Excellent food - unusual menu based on flavours rather than food description - lovely amuse bouches. Attentive staff. A welcome lack of dining room musak! A very relaxing environment. Nice walks in the hotel grounds. All in all to be highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short break with us and look forward to welcoming you back again to Storrs Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Prime, possibly the best, location on Windermere with south facing grounds sweeping down to the lake edge. Lovely C18th building with many original features in the comfortable and country house style public rooms. Relaxed ambiance, with welcoming and attentive staff. We arrived late for our three night stay and they happily produced tasty bar meals for us. We also ate in the (full!) restaurant on the Saturday night thoroughly enjoying the elegant food, which while a three course menu, also included two mini courses (amuses bouche). The portion sizes well judged so could enjoy all the subtle flavours and have room for the desserts. The menu offered interesting and surprising flavour combinations, beautifully presented which worked superbly. Also appreciated the chef is aware of the requirements of vegetarians, rather than being an afterthought token gesture. Yes, as others have commented, some of the décor in the bedrooms is a little faded - our bay windows being somewhat tatty, but the view over the grounds and lake more than made up for it. We note from the Manager's comments to other reviews they are planning refurbishment in 2014, which in our book would definitely make their review 5 star. We will return!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I take great heart in reading your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed our idyllic location and your overall experience within the hotel.
It is indeed very exciting times for Storrs Hall ahead with our planned refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back in due course.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berks UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

It has all been said, location great, tired hotel, good staff, breakfast was very good....very tasty bacon! Just one additional comment not made, we stayed for 4 nights and ate out every night... The dining room was as quiet as a morgue and seemed like only a set menu which was too much for me. Only discovered later that bar snacks available but even then something in between would be better...these days most people only eat 3 courses for celebration, even in holiday and a decent main in enough.
By the way the restaurant manager is very good, makes you very welcome.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

As you mention, our refurbishment plans are afoot.
I was sorry to hear that you felt the need to dine out every evening. We are indeed very flexible with our food offering and if there was something specific that you would have liked, then our chefs would have happily created this for you, with notice.
Our main dining room is often very busy, but notably we are in the few weeks prior to Christmas and that bit quieter during the midweek. We do offer all day dining which is also reflected in our room service offering and allows an alternative to the formal option we choose to serve in our restaurant. It is a shame that you were not aware of this until perhaps too late.

Perhaps you might return in the future and witness our alterations.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed for one night with a Secret Escapes discount. The hotel is right on the lake and is in a very beautiful location with lovely, well maintained scenic grounds. the hotel is classed as a 4 star but I would really struggle with giving it a 4 star rating.
The receptionist was very friendly and efficient and the check in was speedy. We were offered lots of extras like newspapers to order, drinks, snacks. We asked about the local area and the receptionist offered us lots of information and help, offering to order taxis if we needed and giving directions and advice on the best places to eat. We requested an ice bucket and two wine glasses to be sent to our room and this was done immediately.
The reception area/lobby and the restaurant, library/games room and bar area were lovely with a real welcoming open fire and complementary newspapers and magazines.
The hotel is very 'old world' with paintings, ornaments, etc keeping the theme. There is no lift at all so making it difficult for less able bodied people to get to their room if not staying on the ground floor.
Not impressed with our room though. The room was of reasonable size but the carpets were stained and really shabby looking and went through into the bathroom (I don't think its a good idea to have carpet in the toilet/bathroom area - not hygienic at all). Again the carpet was dirty and stained in the toilet area (not nice at all), the tiles in the shower area were cracked and the shower/bath was quite stained. There was a dirty looking bath mat rolled up next to the toilet brush - deff not four star at all. The woodwork was chipped and needed a good lick of paint and the wooden windowsills were all rotten and again in need of painting.
We had a lakeside view room and I must say that it was the view that made the hotel stay. We had a beautiful peaceful view of the gardens and lake. We took a long walk around the gardens and it is very beautiful and well maintained. There is a jetty where you can take a boat.
The bed was large and very clean and comfortable. There was tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer, toiletries, TV, telephone. The furniture was old but I suppose was in-keeping with the style of the hotel.
We had drinks in the bar in the evening. The drinks were very reasonably priced for a hotel and the service was excellent. The staff were very attentive, helpful and polite and there was a good choice of food and drink on offer with a lovely roaring fire and relaxed, comfortable seating area.
Breakfast was quite a pleasurable affair. There was a small continental selection on offer which was adequate with a good choice of fresh continental meat, cheeses, cereal, Danish pastries, fruit and yoghurt and a selection of fresh fruit juices and mineral water. There was a menu for cooked breakfast which had a very good choice. My husband had the full English which was excellent and a large plate full. I had the eggs benedict which was superb and again plentiful and very well cooked and well presented. There was a selection of toast offered and choice of drinks. The breakfast service again was excellent and the staff were very attentive and polite. There were Sunday papers offered and the whole time felt unhurried and relaxing.
Check out was just as quick and efficient as the check in with very friendly, helpful staff.
I received an email on my return home from the Manager to say that they hope my stay was pleasurable and giving me special offers if I was to return. We did in fact have a very pleasant and relaxed stay at Storrs Hall. The staff, the service, the lakeside view room, beautiful grounds made our stay a good one. The food was excellent, the drinks reasonably priced, comfy clean bed, peace and quiet. Just needs a tidy up on the paintwork and get rid of the horrible carpets.

Room Tip: Deffinitely get a lakeside view room - beautiful views. Higher floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I take great heart in our customer feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience.
As a Grade II Listed Georgian Mansion Storrs Hall indeed has a great level of character and with age, character and attentive staff combined, we would like to hope that all of our guests feel relaxed and welcomed on every occasion, as you did.

I can pleasingly reassure you that the points you raise about your bedroom are soon to be eradicated with a full refurbishment programme already planned for 2014. With the full support of our owners and the guidance of a new management structure in place, Storrs Hall is soon to be refreshed and restored and moving into a new era.

We hope that you will return sometime in 2014 where you will be able to witness our many alterations.

Yours Sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked our weekend at Storrs Hall through Secret Escape and what a fantastic experience it was . Food and Service is probably the best we have ever had . The room was lovely and comfortable . Nothing was to much trouble for the staff and they attended to our every need , Freddie runs this like clockwork but all the staff wok extremely hard and always serve with a smile. We were able to take our sprocker dog which we felt privileged in such a luxurious hotel. We will certainly visit again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us along with your four legged companion.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storrs Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.