We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the taxidermy, stay for the beer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hole in t'Wall

Hole in t'Wall
Lowside, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DH, England
+44 (0)15394 43488
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Come for the taxidermy, stay for the beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excellent pub, with a genuinely interesting interior. The beer is excellent and there is a goodly choice. They also serve a Real Cider (Old Rosie) which is exactly what my wife favours. The staff were friendly and accommodating( making tea late at night, for our designated driver). Well played everybody.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    109
    31
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Great pub for sitting outside or in. Lovely staff. Did not eat here so cannot comment on food. Old rosie cider is a must. Definately a must visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We trailed around Bowness early one evening looking for a light meal that wasn't too financially crippling and happened along Hole in't Wall. It was as others have said very quaint and the surroundings were an experience in themselves - although don't visit if you find stuffed animals creepy! My husband and I shared a huge ploughman's platter and a serving of fried Feta cheese in breadcrumbs and it was quite delicious. Because it was a sunny evening most of the patrons were outside - we had a table inside which was quite small ( the pub, not the table) and I imagine getting a table on a rainy evening would be difficult. We would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely little pub which is relatively easy to find, yet tucked away from the crowds. The atmosphere is great, the food and drink is probably leaning on the average side of things, but in all honesty it doesn't really matter given the overall experience. I will definitely visit it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“brilliant friday night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

excellent trio _bloodshot eyes_who are on most Fridays in summer.Good mix of comedy,folk,rock and whatever else with occasional guest singers.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in t'Wall also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hole in t'Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hole in t'Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.