We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hole in t'Wall

Hole in t'Wall
Lowside, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DH, England
+44 (0)15394 43488
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds
2 reviews
“Warm place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A lovely spot with links back to Dickens. On two levels with friendly bar staff. The Hartleys XB is superb.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    91
    27
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“It's a must if you are anywhere in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been staying in Bowness for several years now. Our first port of call is ALWAYS here. This bar is a full of characters. They are either visitors like ourselves or regular customers. It may be 6 months since we were last in but it always seems more like 6 hours. The food is great value. The staff are always friendly. No mulled wine last time but that's ok and the labrador is still moulting but still adorable!
See you soon !
Mike and Collette.
x

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice pub to finish off a long day of walking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a nice pub to finish off a long day of walking, however it was a bit cold in the area we were sitting in, even though the fires were lit. Fine selection of ales available.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hole in T'Wall a real hidden jem,fantastic atmosphere,have been there many a time when in Bowness. The food is good with generous portions a good selection of beers and ales,i wish i could move it closer to home looking foreward to my next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Atmospheric Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

After walking round various parts of the area all afternoon, we were ready for a sit down in a cozy pub for a well deserved drink and we chose the Hole in't Wall. It was a perfect ending to our day! As it was in the middle of winter and early evening the open fire and the dim lighting really added a great ambiance to an already cozy country pub. The staff were helpful and very welcoming and the pub had a very rustic feel. I am not sure if food is served here as we only went for a drink but i thoroughly enjoyed my surroundings and would definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in t'Wall also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hole in t'Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hole in t'Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.