We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful first impression downhill from then on.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hole in t'Wall

Hole in t'Wall
Lowside, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DH, England
+44 (0)15394 43488
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful first impression downhill from then on.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The building looks lovely and seemed like the place to visit judging by reviews on TA. How wrong they are.
The pub was full which we hoped was a good sign but generally grubby, we should of legged it when we saw the graffitti on the bathroom walls and the signs warning against selling drugs on the premises, and the dead flowers on each table.
However hubby being a fan of real ale we decided to stay and found a table unfortunately in the noisier part of the building. It seemed quite a few people were on an all dayer and were very loud.
My jacket potatoe was disapointing with shell still on some of the prawns. Hubby said his steak pie was nice but i was put off by the frozen veg. Also I do have a good sense of humour but some visitors might be put off by the laminated list of do's and don'ts from the barman on each table. This place could and should be a goldmine but it needs a lot more effort in all areas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    109
    31
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“The Pubs the thing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Yes a real pub with lots of atmosphere. Cask Ale currently (Nov 2012) £3.25 - read the menu or take a taste.

The meals are not cheap - but few meals are cheap in the Lake District! But the meals are just a little different to bar meals.

You have not been to Bowness unless you have visited "Hole in t'Wall

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Remortgage your home!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Visited ole in the wall whilst staying for a long weekend with my husband, we ordered a meal which would just about be described as edible, my husband had a pint of carling and I had a large vodka, the prices were a complete rip off. We feel the staff there use the fact the pubs history to double prices, we will not be going back there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews people have put on I find them laughable. The hole int wall is the oldest traditional tavern in Bowness. It is a proper pub, as they should be. How people can be offended by stuffed animals shows there lack understanding of the country side and how it has worked for generations. If you are looking for a proper pub you have just found it. Probably one of the best country pubs I have ever been in by a mile. When they have music on its an awesome place to be.

You can't go wrong with this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub, but less than average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a really lovely old pub with stacks of character and well worth a visit for a drink. However, we also ate there and although the meal filled t'hole it wasn't that good. I had one of the specials, cheese quiche, chips salad and cole slaw. The quiche was no better than a no frills off the shelf one from Tesco. In fact I've had nicer from Aldi. I just feel that for £9.95 the cheese quiche shouldn't look and taste like it's out of a packet and should be delicious. Apart from that it's a lovely pub for a beer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in t'Wall also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hole in t'Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hole in t'Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.