We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic b and b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandown Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandown Guest House
Save
You added Sandown Guest House to your Saves list
Lake Road | Bowness-on-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Fantastic b and b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Sandown for my birthday and what a joy it was. The owners are lovely and nothing is ever too much for them. The staff are also very friendly and very welcoming at breakfast and are happy to help with anything including tips on things to do in the lakes. We would highly, highly recommend Sandown to anyone wanting to stay in Windermere or bowness as it is central for both and we will most definitely be returning to stay again. The whole place is absolutely immaculate and cannot be faulted in any way!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks Kelly-Ann for your lovely comments we are really pleased you had a good birthday break despite the mixed weather!! We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Bye for now Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
49
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stockton on tees
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a two night stay in this little gem of a guesthouse. We were greeted by Georgeene, the owner,and shown to our room. The room was small but spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard in a modern design. The bedrooms are on the ground floor and the dining room and lounge are on the first floor. They too were immaculate. There was ample parking space on site which is a plus for us. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt and fruit juice and of course the full English. Georgeene was very pleasant and had a good knowledge of the area. A gentle 10 minute walk takes you through the town and down to the lake. We would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we enjoy reading our guest comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very friendly and good service, even though I was just there for one night. Clean and well decorated room and very good breakfast. no hesitations in recommending this B&B or staying there again. Good location for access into both Bowness and Windermere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much Jonathan for your kind review, it was nice to meet you and are glad you enjoyed your short stay. Warm regards Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

very nice guest house in-between boweness & windermere spent three nights there. Loverly and clean Georgeena the loverly host. Breakfast was gorgeous. Staff pleasant and helpful. wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank for leaving your great review it was our pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again at any time. Kind regards Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely guest house.
The room was really nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, to our surprise it was cleaned and tidied every day for us. The staff were all so so helpful and Mark and Georgeene were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was 5 star and the breakfast room and lounge were beautifully decorated and really light and airy. We were lucky to have fabulous sunshine which made the weekend even better!! The location was perfect - a short wander down to the lake or alternatively into Windermere. Thank you so much for a fabulous stay and we will be back. Xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We really enjoyed meeting you and it was our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as we could and so glad the weather was super for you. We hope to see you back again at Sandown again before too long. Warm regards Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went to the Lakes for Bank Holiday Weekend.
As usual stayed at The Sandown.
Up to it's usual high standard.
Georgeene and Mark very helpful and as usual pointed us in the direction of things to do.
To keep to the "Racing" theme (Sandown) went to Cartmel races...wonderful.
Breakfasts up to their usual high standard and Will be going back when next in the Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
As usual it was a pleasure to see you again and we are so glad you had a great day at Cartmel Races and with winnings to boot!! Look forward to December when we will see you back for a quick relax before the festivities. Best wishes as always Georgie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was looking for somewhere to stay in Bowness, for a three night midweek break for three people and while looking through TA came across The Sandown. After reading the reviews, and still having two rooms vacant, I thought it may be too good to be true.But it was just what we were looking for. We have stayed six times at different accommodation in Bowness and this was up there with the best. The Sandown is a very nice, clean, friendly place. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with everything people have now come to expect, including free Wi-Fi. The breakfasts are served on the first floor and have a very good choice, from fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, to an excellent full English. Georgeene and her staff are very friendly, helpful and nothing seems too much trouble. The Sandown is ideally situated, with the added bonus of on-site parking, which in Bowness is a definite plus. If we ever decide to come back to Bowness again, then I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review it was great to have you all stay with us and we would welcome you back anytime. Kind regards Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Guest House

Address: Lake Road | Bowness-on-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandown is a newly refurbished Guesthouse in Bowness-on-Windermere. Guest rooms have shower en-suite, flat screen TV & free Wi-Fi. Located just a 5 minute stroll to the Lake Windermere and Bowness. Private parking and breakfast locally sourced. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandown Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandown Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.