We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Peter Rabbit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The World of Beatrix Potter

The World of Beatrix Potter
The Old Laundry, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX , England
0844 504 1233
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The characters of Beatrix Potter's stories are brought to life in this recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We love Peter Rabbit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been many times with my grandchildren always finding the staff very pleasant it is a very nostalgic place and quiet magical. They also now do a quiz which is good fun a great time for the younger end.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    256
    87
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

my partner and i took my 5 and 8 year old boys to the "world" of beatrix potter. to start with world rather suggests something more than a musty bunch of rooms with outdated dusty aged displays. and the attempt to update the place by putting a few touch screen displays here and there really doesn't work. the one room that was modern is right at the very end where you can play with touch screen table and big screens which as far as i could tell just showed views of places where she grew up and wrote stories, it just looked like they had a spare bunch of cash and threw some gadgets in there, the money would have been far better spent restoring and cleaning the displays that were already there. my partner is a die hard fan but the disappointing displays and astronomic prices for entry and souvenirs even she was left feeling had. really don't bother going. waste of money is an understatement

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place was a lovely visit and I got such a blast of nostalgia looking at all the exhibits. The staff were very friendly and we went into the café afterwards and found the food very tasty and fresh. I would definitely recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Incredibly rude staff-they wouldn't let us in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Planned to visit the Beatrix Potter attraction in the afternoon and saw last admissions were at 16:30, so we arrived just before and the staff wouldn't let us in saying they had cashed up early due to it being 'quiet'. We were so disappointed with the staffs' attitude. Such a shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rather underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited The Beatrix Potter World during Oct Half Term.

I think there needed to be more interactive things there for young children to do as entry was quite pricey.

What annoyed me was that to buy anything there from the gift shop, cafe etc there was a £5 minimum spend to pay by card, so we felt like we were spending more than we needed to

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The World of Beatrix Potter also viewed

 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The World of Beatrix Potter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The World of Beatrix Potter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.