We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for little people on a rainy day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The World of Beatrix Potter

The World of Beatrix Potter
The Old Laundry, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX , England
0844 504 1233
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The characters of Beatrix Potter's stories are brought to life in this recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Lake District
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place for little people on a rainy day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lots of nooks and crannies to search out. A short film to watch - not very interesting fir the very young. Cafe pricey and not much choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    256
    87
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun family outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was big enough to spend a morning there and keep the children entertained. The cafe is nice but like most at tourist attractions nothing to rave about. Nice idea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

As museums go it's nothing spectacular. It filled a couple of hours in whilst it was raining!! The video at the start of the museum is interesting and the coffee shop was nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited in August with friends and our two children. I had always been interested in visiting this attraction but was a little disappointed and felt that value for money was poor.

The garden was very small and their was not really a great deal to see inside. The displays were not particularly interactive and there was a lot of text to read which would not captivate the attention of younger children. The displays were quite small and dark. Considering we had finished walking round in under an hour, I felt value for money was poor.

On the plus side the cream tea in the cafe was delicious!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“really cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

went with my 2 nieces, I loved it so did they, was surprised by the garden, Mr Mc Gregor, the gardner :-0 was really pleasent to talk to and very informative about the plants he has grown, lovely afternoon, needless to say, m y 2 nieces were waiting for me to get round as I was reading everything, smashing place, you don't need to be a kid :-)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The World of Beatrix Potter also viewed

 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The World of Beatrix Potter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The World of Beatrix Potter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.