We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to the Lake District and the essence of England” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Burn How Garden House Hotel to your Saves list
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Back Belsfield Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great introduction to the Lake District and the essence of England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

If you have an overseas guest, this hotel is a fine example of the quintessential Lake District hotel. The room was spacious, well furnished and tasteful with a good sized modern bathroom (and small washing line - a must for walkers). In addition to tea and coffee making facilities, iron and wifi there was also a trouser press! After a long, wet day out walking the spacious and comfortable room was lovely to return to. There was also a lovely and inviting lounge area and bar which we gratefully collapsed in at night. Check out the toilet in this area. My Aussie mate loved it!.Surprisingly for a hotel the drinks were reasonably priced with a good choice of local beers. The restaurant and breakfast were also excellent. In all we couldn't fault this hotel. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night. We shall definitely be recommending it and will book it next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
We look forward to welcoming you back, and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, thank you for your comments which we pass onto the staff.
We do get a lot of comments on the Ladies loo and hope yourAustralian friend had a good trip home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    100
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
72
194
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Just returned from 2 nights at the Burn How. Room was clean, comfortable and warm. Although we stayed in the house we also viewed the chalets which looked great too. We had been recommended the hotel and we weren't disappointed. The food was excellent and the house wine was extremely good. All the staff were friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this hotel to my mum - and that means it really is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments on the hotel and our staff.
We are extremely pleased that we had been reccommended to you and that you have enjoyed your stay. Not only do we look forward to welcoming you back, but to welcoming you Mum too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Seems a nice hotel from the pictures, but stay away from room 11. You will never get any sleep there as there isn't any sound proofing from the Orgre above!! Although the bed was nice, comfortable, flat screen on the wall, room 11 still seems very dated with a carpet that would go well in any horror movie! The bed side light's, has that old look and even the old turn off up next to the blub! Now that's not how to refurbish a light fitting! Not to mention that power-shower pump sound when ever anyone else goes to the bathroom from the room above, or is it behind? But when you're in the shower, that's a pleasure to take away some of the hurt.

Strange to say all that for one night, but there is no point complaining when you're only there for such a short stay. The staff do seem nice and the breakfast was actually okay. However that coffee did taste a bit cheap!

Back into the car and off home! Maybe I can get some more hiking in next time!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
We are very sorry that you did not make these comments to us whilst you were here. As you say the staff are "nice" and we pride ourseves on our high standards of service and friendliness, and would have been receptive to your concerns, and would have moved you to another room, as we really do strive to meet our guests expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel , with friends, for the New Year period and have had a fantastic time. The hotel was warm, the staff friendly, helpful and very welcoming and the bedroom could not be faulted. It was large; warm and very well appointed. The food was extremely good, even on New Years Eve which was busy the standard did not faulter . The chef is excellent, producing superb food at all times, beautifully presented and equal to any "top class restaurant "
The breakfast choices were equally as good.
The hotel is very centrally situated , an excellent base for touring or walking in the Lakesand only 5 mins walk to Lake Windermere or Bowness shops. If the weather is bad as can happen frequently in the lakes walking from any of the garden bedrooms to hotel may not be quite so pleasant but otherwise it is a lovely hotel and highly recomended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

stayed on the 9th october for one night but wish it had been for more, the chalet type room was really large and clean infact the bathroom was that clean it looked new, we never had a meal at the hotel but after the breakfast we had i really wish we had done as the breakfast was gorgeous,the staff and waitresses were all very nice, this is a hotel that we will definetly be going back to , how anybody could call this hotel is beyond me as we couldnt fault it at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when we hope you will sample our restaurant in the evening. We thank you for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel and have no complaints. The room was large , bright and immaculate. The staff were all very helpful. The breakfast offered an excellent selection of cereals,fruit and various options of cooked breakfast which were all fresh and tasty with good sized portions. All in all a very relaxing experience despite being only a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Windermere

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
WE hope to welcome you back for a further relaxing break with us.
Thank you for your positive comments which I have passsed on to the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in one of the Garden Chalet rooms which catered for groups more than 2. Rooms were very damp, lamps falling to pieces and the bedding was a complete disgrace. We had a double and a singe bed and a pull out bed with no extra bedding which didnt help as we had to swap beds as they were all so uncomfortable. The iron in the room burnt our clothes and the fittings in the bathroom were hanging off the wall. The room was very dated and a badly stained carpet did it no justice. All in all a disappointing stay for what was an expensive break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
We appreciate all comments from our guests, as we can use the feedback to find out if we are meeting our guests expectations.
We are saddened that you spent 4 days with us and have found it necessary to bring to our attention your problems by this media rather than with us whilst you were here. If you had let us know during your stay, we could have had the opportunity to rectify any problems or to have moved you to another room and made your stay more comfortable.
As our bathrooms have been completely refurbished last year, we were amazed you found the fittings to be “hanging off the wall”.
The pull out bed, is only made up when we expect 4 guests in a room and as you had only booked for 3 we would not have made the bed up unless we were requested that this was to be used.
We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations in the garden chalets rooms as these rooms are the most requested by other guests who find them spacious and airy, and enjoy the balcony overlooking the garden area, but we would have willingly moved you to another part of the hotel if only we had known at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £25.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burn How Garden House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.