We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Burn How Garden House Hotel to your Saves list
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Back Belsfield Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
preston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“absolutely delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

one of the most welcoming and charming places ive ever stayed.... the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble... when going for breakfast (which is wonderful) its a must to sit next to the large windows over looking the large garden area, and watch all the wild birds and squirrels. it may need at little visit from Laurence Llewelyn Bowen to tidy up the décor, but that's the only down side i could see, but it was extremely clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    105
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
76
211
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Burn How is five minutes walk from Bowness centre so ideal for a quick break especially if you dont wish to drive anywhere. The hotel reception and restaurant/breakfast room overlook the handsome gardens which are bordered by chalets which make up the majority of the accommodation. Staff were friendly and welcoming throughout our visit and made us feel at home.

Our room was on the first floor in the main house near to the reception/restaurant . Booking new year in Bowness can be awkward as most places will hold out for a three night booking and Burn How was the only place which would take our two night reservation. Weve stayed at several of the 'best' B&B/hotels in Bowness using trip advisor as our guide. The hotel charges more than most other local accommodation but unfortunately the room didnt justify the extra cost. The bed was a standard double and the walls were grubby and needed a coat of paint. The shower was set in the bath with fixings on the bath taps, which isnt particularly user friendly. The bathroom itself was very cramped. Ive no problem paying a premium for that 'little extra' but this was all very middle of the road.

The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and staff were on hand to offer extra coffee and toast.

Overall this was a decent stay in a nice hotel. However in a competitive environment there are many places locally which charge less and have better accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary and were very impressed. We stayed in Room 17, which is upstairs in a small one-storey block of approx 8 rooms with their own front doors, and allocated parking space.The room had been well maintained and looked recently updated, with a new bathroom (very clean with a shower over the bath), modern soft furnishings and patio doors to a balcony overlooking a garden surrounded by trees. It was completely private and although separate from the reception and restaurant, it was only 15 seconds walk away. It rained a lot while we were there (it is the Lakes after all), but I didn't mind the short dash to the restaurant as the food was simply Outstanding!! The service was also excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. When we didn't make it for breakfast one morning the phone rang to ask us if we would still like to come (this was 5 mins before the end of service). I would recommend this hotel to anyone - there was a wide age range staying when we were there - but especially couples who prefer to be a bit off the beaten track whilst within easy walking distance of the town. It's a five minute walk into Bowness, or a 2 minute drive for the less mobile (bit of a steep hill coming back).

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Our annual trip to the Lake District is enhanced by the friendly welcome, the excellent meals and accessible but quiet location of this hotel in Bowness. There is a wide variety of rooms to suit everybody - chalet style for families to more intimate rooms for couples. The staff have always been very willing to accommodate personal preferences ( I am a vegatarian for example ) and do their best to make everyone's stay enjoyable.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed at this hotel recently and were very unimpressed by pretty much everything. Where to start! First off the staff were very unhelpfull, and didnt give a welcoming feel to us as guests. The hotel, is actually a bunch of outbuildings and not all contained in the one building, which makes it more of a motel than a proper hotel. Really this place is more like an overdone B&B rather than a hotel, and that makes it overpriced. The rooms were cold, damp and had a musty smell, although the rooms was quite large. The internet is provided via Wifi and it doesnt reach most of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for four days: I had a bedroom overlooking the garden; it was very quiet. the food in the hotel is of a very high standard and the stay was very enjoyable.
Its only a short walk to Bowness and the lake.
The hotel advertises wireless internet but this did not seem to be available: that would be my only small criticism.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago and returned only because of its location - a short walk into Bowness - a lovely town. Hotel also has a free car park.
We were reluctant to return because of the disappointment we experienced on our first visit - the room was small with nothing special about it at all to warrant the hefty price.
But we returned this year, as we weren't sure of any other hotels in the area. Again we were disappointed with the room. Top floor of the main house. En-suite - but the washbasin wasn't even in the bathroom. They have obviously tried to fit in as much as possible in as little space as possible.
The staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was good - although if you ask for beans with your full breakfast don't expect any more than a teaspoonful. Ask for mixed toast and you only get one round of white and brown. Between 2 people? Cost cutting obviously. Although you could always ask for more.
The younger female waitresses hung around the table the whole time we were eating, waiting to take our plates - very annoying. We never ate an evening meal there due to the prices.
A pleasant hotel - but very pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burn How Garden House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.