We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value for Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Burn How Garden House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Back Belsfield Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Value for Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Highly misleading website shows lush, private gardens surrounding large victorian house. In reality every spare inch of the grounds has been given over to 2 story flat roofed buildings, obviously designed in the 1970s. Exceptionally ugly, using unsympathetc materials (lots of concrete and painted metal). Parking a nightmare. Breakfast good but slow. Too few staff. Large comfortable bed let down by bedlinen a good 6 inches too small for the size of mattress. A shortage of lavatory paper in rooms and in conveniences in public areas. A dirty towel left on the floor to be replaced was put back on the towel rail, wet, over clean towels. Price charged at check out was £10 greater than that quoted at booking. Overall impression is that they are running on a financial shoe string. Wouldn't stay again. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We read with sadness your review.
Our website does show the main house from the front garden, but it also shows the garden chalets and the rose garden block where you stayed and does not show just one image which could be misleading, all of the rooms are surrounded by gardens so we have to disagree with your statement. All of the rooms have numbered parking spaces and we have to rely on the guests to use these fairly and correctly.
Most of our guests do not want to feel that they are being rushed at breakfast, thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast. As for the remainder of your comments, if you had let us know during your stay these could have easily been rectified. Your remark at check out was resolved straight away, before you settled your bill.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy much of your stay, and it saddens us that you have had to wait to let us know via this medium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    83
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
61
166
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for another lovely weekend at the Burn How Hotel. We had a garden chalet which was spacious, comfortable and well appointed with parking just outside. Ate dinner in the excellent restaurant on Friday and Saturday - delicious, with local ingredients. The breakfasts are simply outstanding, and the welcome is always very warm and friendly. Bowness is a good spot from which to explore the Lake District. Will definitely be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It was nice to be able to welcome you back for another stay with us, and another thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at the burn how garden hotel and we loved it....the only down side was we only stayed for one night. We stayed in the lodge,the room was large with two armchairs to sit in,bathroom was very clean with good selection of toiletries and lovely white thick towels,the tea tray was fully stocked which we really like with fab biscuits too.The gardens are beautiful and well looked after.The location if the hotel was great,right in the middle of things so easy to walk back and drop off the shopping.BREAKFAST well it was a banquet! There was so much to choose from and very polite staff topping up coffee and toast.I don't know what they could do to make it any better..it's not a boutique hotel but it wouldn't suit that look anyway...it just an honest lovely place to stay,we are already planning our next visit.WELL DONE

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We hope that on your next visit you will be able to stay with us longer. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and giving such a lovely description of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I booked for 3 nights for our Anniversary.

The rooms are in separate outbuilding blocks surrounded by lush gardens . Our superior room was spacious, well decorated, with two comfortable lounger chairs and good facilities.

We enjoyed the restaurant food, which was beautifully cooked and served in a lovely dining area. We tried a meal there the first night, and enjoyed it so much we ate there the following night as well. The staff were friendly, attentive and responsive to individual requests.

There is adequate parking space and Bowness town is accessible within a five minute walk.

We had a lovely superior room overlooking gardens - #16. However, the walls of the bedroom units were not well insulated for sound. I was disturbed by noisy conversations from adjoining rooms which could be heard distinctly. The sound from TVs easily permeated the walls and could be heard even when your own TV was on.

There was an issue with the plumbing with noisy pipes at 6am in the morning as the hot water tried to get through, waking me each time.

The staff received my complaints sympathetically. No other rooms were available, so I left one day early with their apologies and a discount.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and your lovely comments.
We have looked in to the problem with the pipes and we are looking into the noise problem.
We apologise that you had to leave us early and that this affected your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, Northants
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely service.
Clean spacious rooms.
Delicious breakfast.
Lovely gardens.

We recently had a lovely 2 night stay here. We were 2 couple on a weekend of recreational walks and drinking.
Not prefect, but not far off - Happily stay here again.
All in all very good.

Room Tip: We did not use the pool or gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We hope you had lots of pleasant walks and beverages during your stay. Thank you for your review of your your stay with us, and we hope that we will see you againa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our latest stay at the hotel was again fantastic
The Room was a great standard and the service was fantastic
This is a great family owned hotel that always comes up to the mark.
Dinner was exceptional and the breakfast had plenty of choices.
Nothing is too much trouble at this hotel with friendly staff always willing to help with trips and information

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Garden rooms previously and these are very spacious This time we had the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to send your review, and for the lovely comments that you have made, We hope that you will stay again and will sample the dinners and friendly staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arrived early evening after a 2 hour drive, was shown to our room no 17 which was located up a flight of stairs rather like an apartment block off set from the main reception area, room was mediocre with magnolia anaglypta walls and deep red carpets, very dated, room could definitely do with a revamp, breakfast first morning was a bit of a fiasco, my partner ordered coffee and I ordered tea, coffee came immediately, tea took about 20 minutes to arrive along with the toast, I had asked on 2 separate occasions where the tea and toast was, we had all but finished breakfast by the time the tea and toast arrived. On the plus side the hotel is very central to the town, the surroundings are lovely, gardens are well kept.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It is with regret that we have read your review, and that it seems that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted the points you have raised and for all tea and toast are freshly made in the kitchen 20 minutes wait is excessive and we apologise for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £25.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burn How Garden House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.