We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Bowness-on-Windermere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Burn How Garden House Hotel to your Saves list
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Back Belsfield Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One night in Bowness-on-Windermere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived on a grey, damp afternoon. Our room, on the first floor of a motel style complex with an allocated parking space, was warm and welcoming, comfortable and well appointed.

The hotel is set in a beautiful garden within an easy walk to the town's centre. The Reception and Restaurant were in a different building to our accommodation block.

Dinner in the restuarant was out of our budget so we ate at a nearby pub, The Royal Oak, which had a roaring fire and good pub food. However, there are lots of restaurants and pubs in Bowness to choose from.

The breakfast was extremely good with lots of options. The staff were all attentive and helpful. We would stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs, make sure you ask for a ground floor room as the stairs were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We do look forward to being able to welcome you back when you are next in the area.
Thank you for taking the time to send this review and all your lovely remarks.
We hope that it had been explained to you that we have 3 different menus for the restaurant and that our lite bite main meals start from £9.50. hopefully we will have something for you at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    100
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
72
194
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights here on the one & only gloriously sunny weekend in August, with hubbie and his Mum. We had 2 ground floor rooms in the original Lodge, ideal for Mum who struggles with stairs plus it is only a short level walk across the driveway to the reception and restaurant areas. Both rooms were huge with lots of character, ours had a superb new bathroom with bath/shower and Mums had a large walk in shower. Rooms were clean, towels fluffy, tea tray provided, all as you would expect really. The only negative point and this may just be peculiar to me is that the head of our bed seemed to be quite a bit lower than the foot end, due to the slope of the old floor and I did not sleep well until the 2nd night when it finally dawned on me that I could simply sleep the other way round...d'oh! Service was excellent, lovely, friendly, attentive waiting staff and what a breakfast feast...more variety of fresh fruits than Sainsburys. We also had dinner in the hotel each night and were delighted with the food quality and choice on offer. Parking was available right outside our rooms. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens, in a brilliant location, only a short, but steepish, walk from the lake, shops and restaurants. Even Mum managed the walk , although we did have to give her a piggyback on the uphill bit!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we hope that your mum enjoyed the piggy back!!
We will try out the bed, as this has not been mentioned before, hope you got some sleep and that you will come and try out other rooms around the hotel, and enjoy again all the things that you have mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a pleasent suprise and what a great place to stay. First time staying at this hotel and it will not be the last. I took family and friends, 7 of us in total and all extreamily happy. The rooms were great,spotlessy clean, and breakfast was sumptuous. The service wes great and would throughly recommend a stay at The Burn How.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a lovely review, It certainly helps the staff to work to customer expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend break in Windermere. First time staying at this hotel and it certainly won't be the last. Excellent location, great sized rooms, spotlessly clean and fabulous breakfast! The staff were lovely and nothing was too much bother for our party of 6 adults. Would recommend a trip to Ambleside from the cruise boats at the Peir and a visit to Grasmere - only 15 mins by car. Spoiled for choice if having dinner while out and about in Bowness but would recommend The Village Bar and Grill. Their food was excellent and portions very generous. Can't wait to go back to The Burn How and may even bring more of the family next time. Thanks to all for a lovely, memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
With being very central it is easy to get out and about from the hotel,to enjoy trips by bus, ferry or fit in a walk. It is nice to hear that you made the most of your time in Bowness and we hope that you will try the restaurant on your next visit as the evening meals are as good as the breakfasts.
Thank you for making the time to send this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottish borders
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My friend and I traveling around the country on our motorbikes, very nice place to stay, friendly staff, breakfast really good, exceptionally clean, we stayed in a family room which meant we could have separate beds. We had not booked, and organised a night stay over the phone. Conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We hope you had a good trip travelling around the country and it was nice to hear that yo had enjoyed your short stay with us.
We are happy to welcome motor cyclists and most of our rooms have parking right outside so you are able to have your bikes safely next to you.
We hope you will visit us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We come to Bowness once a yr for a mini break & this hotel has been our favourite so far & our first visit. 5 mins walk from centre of town literally, so great location. Easy to find. Room had the comfiest bed with big thick duvet, lovely white clean bathroom with warm towel rail, v cosy! Fab breakfast, lots of choice of entrees so wasn't just a typical English breakfast. Lovely staff, family run so u can tell the difference with service. They also have little chalet rooms as well which looked v sweet. Will def come back. Thank u!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
It is good to know that you found your bed comfy, and that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us.
Hope your yearly trip to Bowness will see you visiting us again in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My partner and I are frequent long weekenders and stayed in this hotel in late November 2011 and found it good value for money with good food and friendly staff.
We had a garden room which was nice and cosy. For the money we thought it was good value compared with other hotels we have tried in the area. Would go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review, it will be nice to see you visiting us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £25.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burn How Garden House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.