We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly attentive staff and great ambiance.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindeth Drive, Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly attentive staff and great ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We had a lovely break here, small swimming pool for a lively teenager but so colourful and clean. The room was well presented and the "turn down" service a nice extra. The food was exceptional and the library and sitting rooms extremely relaxing. Good central location to South Lakes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear jackobeno,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of Lindeth Howe. We are thrilled to bits you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your kind compliments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the very best,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    131
    39
    12
    11
See reviews for
71
360
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We felt very welcome at the Lindeth Howe from arrival to departure. The lady on reception made us welcome and showed us round the public rooms on the ground floor before showing us to our room on the second floor. This was spacious and comfortable with a view over the gardens to the Hawkshead ferry. We had been looking forward to the dinner and were not disappointed: excellent food served in the elegant dining room. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear TowerTwo,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Lindeth Howe. We are thrilled to bits you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your kind compliments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the very best,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel was a last minute booking when we discovered we were going to the Lake District. The pictures looked lovely and we were impressed by the fact it had been the home of Beatrix Potter.

When we arrived I looked at the room we had originally booked and decided I would prefer a better view. We decided to pay extra money for a lake view room

The room overlooking the lake was much better it was large, spacious and clean with a separated seating area and a raised bed so you can see the view without getting up!

The location of the hotel was a little further outside of Bowness than I expected, however, a taxi ride costs just a few pounds and takes just a few minutes. I'm sure in the summer I would be grateful to be away from the noise and crowds of the centre of town.

The service in the hotel was excellent and the staff are all very friendly and helpful, even though sometimes it can feel a little over formal.

My only negative would be the fact that reception is a small office situated off the entrance hall of the property, this means you feel a little uncomfortable asking to things from reception.

If I return to the Lake District again, I would certainly stay at the Lindeth Howe. I would also happily recommend this hotel.

One thing that has made me very impressed with the Lindeth Howe Hotel, is the fact that I left and something in the room. On calling the hotel they looked in the room and immediately offered to post the item to my home at no charge to myself. This exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear iainseville,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe. We are so pleased you picked Lindeth Howe for your last minute booking. We are lucky that we have a strong connection with Beatrix Potter including Timmy Tiptoes who was wrote and illustrated at Lindeth Howe 100 years ago this year. Please keep an eye out on our website for some great offers and amazing events we are holding to celebrate this special occasion this year.

We are a mile south of Bowness on Windermere and I agree perfect for being away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to walk into the village taking approximately 15 minutes, through the gardens and following the pathway by the Lake.

I will pass your kind compliments onto the team and am sorry you felt they were a little over formal which is unusual for the team here. We have changed the Reception layout around so guests feel at ease coming into Reception, we certainly wouldn’t want our guests to feel uncomfortable asking for anything from any of our team here.

I am so pleased you were reunited with your lost property and may I thank you so much for recommending Lindeth Howe and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

My husband and another couple stayed here for a weekend and we loved it. The hotel was so inviting, lit fires, comfy leather chairs. Our bedroom was comfortable & clean, we enjoyed the small pool and sauna after a day out and about to wind down before dinner. Dinner was beautiful, my husband who is a complete food critic had no complaints both nights throughout all five courses..! Massages are recommended with the therapist, a nice treat.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we didn't want to leave, well located for nice walks around Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear nicolajpayne,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Lindeth Howe. We are so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your stay here. We do attract a few food critics at Lindeth Howe and we are always happy to exceed their expectations. Sara our therapist is excellent and certainly leaves you fully relaxed, although it really is worth reserving an appointment early to avoid disappointment.

Hopefully we will be able to attract you to return and welcome you and your friends back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

I return to this hotel every year as it provides everything I need. Good rooms, wonderful food, good location and great public rooms. It has small indoor pool and a basic gym.
My one minor criticism is that this hotel badly needs an elevator as there are only stairs if you have heavy cases and are on the top floor. There are two easy access rooms downstairs though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear Pesmo,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe. We are so pleased you return each year and enjoy the good rooms, wonderful food and good location including our great public rooms. An elevator is something we consider on an ongoing basis, however has its drawbacks in the fact that it carries noise and vibrations when in use and we would hate to disturb anyone’s peace and relaxation. We do offer complimentary luggage service throughout and as you say have two easy access rooms on the ground floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I booked a night away at Lindeth Howe as a relaxing break from the stresses of work. I cannot fault the staff and the guys in the restaurant were brilliant. The evening meal was the hilight of the experience as the food was amazing and the restaurant a lovely surrounding. I must admit that I found some of the guests needed to learn how to say please and thankyou. We had the pool to ourselves which was lovely, but we were disturbed to find out that you could view guests swimming in the pool on a TV channel in the room. I would like to have been notified of this and find this very uncomfortable. The hotel was lovely, but appears a little 'tired' here and there. I think I would try a different hotel for our next Lake District break.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear bugsy123456,

Thank you very much for your review of Lindeth Howe. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dinner experience and the service and the team here. I apologise you weren’t informed about the pool on one of our TV channels in your room, however this is for your own use to see whether the pool is busy or quiet and also to enable you to dial Reception should the pool need uncovering if covered for energy conservation reasons. We are constantly improving the hotel each year including new duvets throughout by the end of April this year.

I do hope we can convince you to return to Lindeth Howe on your next Lake District Break.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

The building is full of charm and although there are reminders that this was once the holiday home of Beatrix Potter and later her mother's home, it is not overdone. Small, but not too small but very comfortable. A little bit dated here and there and some carpets beginning to show wear and tear.

Our room, No.1, was spacious with lots of suitable furniture, wide screen wall mounted TV and a large bathroom. We had booked this room because the hotel does not have a life and although I am mobile, am unable to manage stairs.

The staff were wonderful, best I have ever come accross, professional and friendly, but not familiar, they would get anything for you without hesitation. The food was wonderful, absolutely delicious. We would certainly return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear,

Dear gemini096

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are constantly improving the hotel each year including new duvets throughout by the end of April this year. I have passed on your kind and generous comments to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Best Wishes,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Lindeth Drive, Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.