We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindeth Drive, Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service made our afternoon tea treat extra special. Delicious sandwiches and cakes especially the divine passion fruit eclair! We were lucky with the weather and were able to sit in the lovely gardens and enjoy it at our leisure. Sadly out of our price range to stay but we will definitely visit again for afternoon tea next time we are in the Lakes.Recommended.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    141
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
77
396
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife took me to Lindeth Howe as a treat - and what a treat it was! Even without the bonus of a Travelzoo deal, this would have been an excellent experience. Lovely old fashioned afternoon tea, a very good dinner with well presented food full of flavours and textures and a no nonsense English breakfast, plus a garden room with a view over the grounds towards Windermere. Our bedroom was on the small side, and we prefer a separate shower to one over a bath, but at the price we paid these are very minor criticisms. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms have a delightful outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, they have a couple of rooms suitable for a family of four, which suits us perfectly. We first stayed there last year and just stayed once again. This time we had High Tea as well, which was yum!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We also booked through Travelzoo and had a lovely room on the second floor with lake views. Entirely devoid of any hint of designer "bleak", this is a stylish and very comfortable hotel in traditional country house fashion. The staff were delightful. The food was delicious and the wine list decently priced. We plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Booked deal with travel zoo. Fabulous fabulous meal. Worth the money alone. Lovely room with lake view would definitely recommend. Wifi in hotel but not a great signal at all in rooms. Great afternoon tea and breakfast

Room Tip: Lake view lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have had a perfect stay in this beautifully appointed hotel. The staff were all very we'll trained so the service was excellent, we booked this through Travelzoo and so we did mot pay the full price which is even better. We were given the Potter suite (named after Mrs Potter) which had a beautiful view of the lLake and all mod cons including fluffy thick towels and White Company shower gel etc, the dinner was delicious and deserving of the 2** Rosette. I don't normally write reviews but felt that this hotel deserved one!,

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have just been reading some of these reviews - and am unable to understand the comments about lack of cleanliness from one of the reviewers. We have been going to Lindeth Howe on and off for over 25 years and had never had any of these problems. We recently had a two day anniversary break (last week in fact) and as usual were not disappointed at Lindeth Howe. Though our bedroom was fairly small it had a lovely lake view and the meals were excellent - the only complaint there is that it might be better if the Mains of the menu was changed more often. That said everything was perfectly cooked, the staff were attentive without being obtrusive and we had a gorgeous stay. As for the walk into Bowness from Lindeth Howe this is not that far really and the traffic is not too bad. It is a lovely walk to go and get the ferry to walk the other side of the lake as well.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a room with a Lake view - never had any trouble with noise here - it is very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Lindeth Drive, Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.