We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in a charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindeth Drive, Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good food in a charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had an overnight deal which included afternoon tea, dinner, bed and breakfast. A real traditional tea (the scones melted in the mouth!), excellent dinner beautifully presented followed by a good breakfast next morning. The hotel is charming and the public rooms spacious and nicely presented. Restaurant staff are very well trained and a credit to the hotel. A good all round experience in a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the lake if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    131
    39
    12
    11
See reviews for
71
360
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a Great weekend at Lindeth, we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, our room had a great view of the lake, it was clean comfy with a bed we did want to get out off,the room had everything we needed,
Food... It started with afternoon tea, small amount of sandwiches, a gooey chocolate brownies, the freshest scones I've had in ages, and the tea was perfect for me. Hubby had coffee, three cups so it must have been good.
Dinner... Lost count of how many courses, but it was delicious, with a lovely warm atmosphere in the restaurant,
Breakfast... You would think after the evening meal we couldn't eat much more, but we couldn't resist, full english for hubby and I was spoilt didn't know which to pick, had smoke salmon & scrambled eggs, the best black pudding,
It didn't stop there, fruit granola,fresh Croissant and Danish, with lashing of tea & coffee.
Will be going back for more soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here on the night of 13th Feb as part of a TravelZoo deal. Was initially put off when informed that our 4 year old would not be allowed in the dining room and that we would have to dine in the library.

We were served afternoon tea in one of the lounges which consisted of sandwiches and home baked scones.

Our room was great (123) although we didn't have a great view. The room was fully equipped and very comfortable.

Our daughter particularly enjoyed the swimming pool.

We enjoyed a very relaxed stress free dinner in the library, which was a very comfortable family dining room where our 4 year old could behave as a 4 year old and we could dine in peace without worrying about other diners.

We stayed at the Linthwaite House Hotel on the night of 14th so obviously compared the two. We definitely preferred this hotel in every way and hope to return for another visit.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. The only reason I'm giving it an average rating is because I really felt our children were out of place. They weren't allowed to eat in the dining room during dinner unless we could guarantee they would behave. That's something a mom of a three year old just can't guarantee! :) I'm perfectly ok with the fact that they don't want children in the dining area, but the hotel is very reserved, and upscale. We felt underdressed in our jeans and hiking shoes at breakfast. Again, it was a beautiful lovely place, just a bit too pretentious for our taste.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful, both inside and out, could not fault anything. The bedroom and bathroom were decorated to a high standard and impeccably clean. Big fluffy white towels, lovely toiletries, dressing gowns provided, beds comfortable and made up with beautiful linen. All the rooms were lovely and warm. Small afternoon tea, delicious, 7 course dinner fantastic and breakfast with enough choices to suit anyone's needs. Would not hesitate to return or recommend. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very enjoyable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent three nights here on a package deal that included dinner, bed and breakfast plus afternoon tea and bubbly on arrival and a 24 hour ticket for the Lake cruises. The hotel is lovely with the most helpful and friendly staff and the food is just wonderful. Our room was great with a view of the Lake (and the garden pond plus ducks!) and the bed was very comfortable. There is a small pool and sauna and the gardens must be superb in the spring and summer. Even though the weather was rather soggy, we had our Lake cruise and returned for a beautifully served dinner. We were sorry to have to leave but fully intend a return visit.

Room Tip: I should think most of the rooms are quiet due to the location of the hotel as it is far enough away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked this lovely hotel for overnight as part of our ruby wedding anniversary celebrations and it also happened to be Valentine's Day. We were greeted warmly and registration was quick and easy. Our room (204) was on the second floor with a lovely view across to Lake Windermere. The room was spacious with a large 'raised' bed and seating area with occasional table. The bathroom had both bath and large walk-in shower. Our children had arranged for the celebration package of champagne, flowers and chocolates and these were already in the room on our arrival. The Valentine Dinner was delicious and the staff were attentive and polite. Breakfast was good with plenty choice. For a special occasion Lindeth Howe ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Lindeth Drive, Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.