We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic stay in beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindeth Drive, Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Romantic stay in beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Bought the TravelZoo voucher for a one night stay including afternoon tea and 5 course meal and it was worth every penny. The hotel is beautiful, very tastefully decorated, with loads of sofas to sit and enjoy the view, read the paper and just relax. The afternoon tea was delightful (warm scones mmmmm) and the evening meal was fabulous. Upgraded to a deluxe room with stunning views of lake Windermere (bed was built up on a platform so you can see the views whilst laid in bed - no need to shut the curtains!). 10 min walk to the car ferry across to Hawkshead so perfect location for good walk. Would definately recommend to others and I'm now keeping an eye out for another voucher deal so I can book again for myself and for parents as an anniversary present.

Room Tip: We had Room 204 which had fab views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
KateJenn
thank you for a lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel it’s great to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea while relaxing in our lounges. I have passed on your comments to the whole team at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe very soon.

Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    146
    43
    12
    11
See reviews for
80
423
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

me and my mum stayed here 10th and 11th may we have been coming for about 5 years twice a year, it is a beautifull hotel in fantastic surroundings ,its only 10 mins walk to bowness the staff are fantastic very professionall yet friendly ,we had the afternoon tea it was lovely the food in the evening is the best we have ever eaten and a delicious breakfast ,the rooms are lovely ,the grounds of the hotel are stunning ,dont hesitate booking this hotel we cant wait to return a big thank thank you to all the staff xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Woo1234187069

It’s great to hear that once again you and your Mother have had a fantastic few days with us at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel it’s always great to welcome returning guests back to the Hotel and we all look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Best Wishes
Tony and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, Staffs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend like so many others on a TravelZoo promotion. This was a wedding anniversay present for our friends.

What a fabulous hotel, so relaxed, in a lovely setting, easy to walk into Bowness. Friendy and attentive staff.

We had the afternoon tea which was lovely and the 5 course evening meal which was phenomenal, the food was lovely with a good choice and the after dinner chocolates to die for.

The whole hotel was spotless and the rooms lovely and well appointed.

This is somewhere we definitely return to for a nice, relaxing day or two.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Holidaymakercannock
The Team and I are really pleased that you have had a wonderful time with us at Lindeth Howe Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at Lindeth Howe and I am pleased to say that it did not disappoint. The hotel was just as welcoming and comfortable as ever. The food, once again, was excellent: imaginative and delicious. All the staff are great, particularly Tony who is always prepared to go the extra mile to help. We are looking forward to booking our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Lancestrian
Thank you for your Fabulous review of the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel I have passed on your comments about the food to Marc our Executive Chef and also Rob the Head Chef who are both really pleased that you have enjoyed their Menus that they have produced.
I am also pleased the see that the team and I are going the extra mile for are guests at the Hotel and it will be great to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this stay with a Travelzoo voucher but paid to stay for a second night. The hotel is easy to find, set in very nice gardens with a view of the lake. It is on the outskirts of Bowness and, therefore, very peaceful. The staff were very helpful from the moment we walked through the door. Our room was on the upper floor, quite a distance from the front door, but this didn't bother us, but might cause problems for others as there is no lift. We had a view over the gardens, across the lake to the mountains, wonderful. The afternoon tea was delicious, not over done, scones, sandwich and cake with a glass of bubbly which was actually champagne not just some bubbly white wine. The evening meal was excellent, novelle cuisine, and a lot of care was taken over presentation. The amuse bouche was wild garlic and cumin, delicious. I know that the garlic leaves were fresh as I saw a member of the kitchen staff picking them in the grounds! We didn't eat in the hotel on the second night as, without the voucher, it was very expensive.
I should point out that the swimming pool is very small and for some strange reason, there is a CCTV camera there which you can access from the television in your room. I found that very strange.
If another voucher deal comes through we would probably go there again.
One other thing, the one star reviews are very old and I think that Tripadvisor should remove them. They bear no relation to the hotel as it is now.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens, lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello mypointofviewis
Thank you for your great review of Lindeth Howe hotel I have pass on your kind to words to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked the Lindeth Howe as part of a Travel Zoo deal. Paid an upgrade fee and were given a superb room overlooking the lake. We arrived on the Saturday afternoon and were given a really nice welcome and shown around the main areas. Took the bags to the room and then retired to the lounge for an afternoon tea, which was really good.
Booked in for dinner as part of the deal and this was the real show stopper. The meal was excellent, beautifully presented and tasted even better. My wife enjoyed a meal from the A La Carte but I went for the Tasting Menu and both of us could not have been more pleased.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife booked us in the Lindeth for my birthday treat, we arrived to a very warm welcome which continued throughout our stay. The food and the service were exceptional. The location is very peaceful but within easy walking distance to Bowness.
We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Dmaw
It’s great to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us at Lindeth Howe Hotel I have passed on your great comments to Sunil our Restaurant Manager and also to Rob the Head Chef, and the Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#5 of 19 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Lindeth Drive, Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.