We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...upon reflection...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindeth Fell Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lindeth Fell Country House to your Saves list
Lindeth Fell Country House
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“...upon reflection...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We went to Lindeth Fell as part of my 70th birthday celebrations and we weren't disappointed.
From the start - a cheery welcome, informed instructions as to how things worked, meal times et all - our holiday really took off and we had a lovely time; the standards are high in cleanliness and desigh, whilst the attitude of the staff to their guests is 100% professional.
Standards as high as this obviously eminate from the top; the Kennedy family are in full control of what goes on, and it shows itself in so many ways, from the availability of newspapers, the huge, fluffy towels and the Faber-Castell pencils in the rooms.
We enjoyed one dinner during our stay, which was quite delicious - presented and served expertly.
I'm sure that when we're in the need of comfort and a bit of a pamper, then the Lindeth Fell will be the hotel to which we will turn.

Room Tip: Our room was of a good size and had a mounted mirror to reflect the lake. A brilliant idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    16
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
106
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We organised a surprise holiday for my partner's 60th. I chose Lindeth Fell for Afternoon Tea.

The service was impeccable, professional, attentive without being pretentious or patronizing.

The food fabulous : there is a good chef and a good pastry chef at work there! Choice of tea, including Lapsang Souchong, which I love but can never find. The adults had a prosecco Afternoon Tea, while the teenager in the party had a "normal" one. The prosecco was very good quality, not too dry, not too sweet (better than a cheap Champagne). Sandwiches, cakes, biscuits, everything was excellent.

Afternoon Tea at Lindeth Fell will remain the highlight of our trip and we will cherish the memory for many years to come. We also enjoyed a walk in the magnificient gardens, which in May were in full bloom.
Last but not least: excellent value for money.

Not being English, I can tell that this is England at its best!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very pleasant and warm welcome. We felt immediately at home. The room was splendid, with a marvelous sight over the woods and water. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious.
One minor detail: we ordered diner in the evening and our steaks were cooked instead of grilled and tasted horrible.
In the surroundings you have a wonderful path that leads around the lake and the small town. It is worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Myself and my husband Michael visited yesterday and this was our second visit, having previously visited in April 2013. We had the full afternoon tea with traditional English loose leaf tea and a caddy full to the brim with sandwiches, garnished with watercress and tomato. The cakes served are lemon drizzle cake, cookies, meringue's, shortbread and scones with homemade jam & fresh cream. The lemon drizzle cake is so good we got a couple of extra slices to take away. We sat in the main lounge which has a large window seat in front. The views are spectacular of lake Windermere and the beautiful landscaped gardens. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. At £14.50 per head this is a real treat that wont break the bank. I have spent more than this for a cream tea when I have been on spa days at other hotels and is no way near to the real luxury experience at the Lindeth Fell.
My husband works at a 5 star hotel in Chester so has extremely high standards and they have been exceeded on both visits. I promise you will not be disappointed. We look forward to visiting again on our next trip to the lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend with our two girls, 7 and 11 years old, in one of the family rooms which was very comfortable and spacious. One of the girls had to stay in bed unwell for a day and we quite enjoyed not going out and staying in the hotel, walking around the gardens and having afternoon tea. We had dinner there both nights of our stay as we found it delicious the first day. Breakfast was very nice too. Service very warm and also efficient. A lovely hotel, what you imagine an English Country Hotel to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Spent a lovely evening here on our trip North. The welcome exceptional, and dinner and breakfast very good.
The views from our room on the second floor were woth the extra flight of stairs.No bath, just a shower but as right at the top of the hotel would not have expected it as space is at a premium and best used in the bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife, Jane and myself have visited 10 times over 15 years and always a very warm welcome from owner and her staff. Quality Hotel, Quality Food, catering for individual needs if necessary i.e. no garlic in sauce, food, etc. Excellant views of Lake below from many bedrooms. Lots of parking spaces in own private grounds and open 11 months a year. A firm favourite. One mile from local railway and bus station at Windermere for those travelling by public transport. 1 mile from ferry crossing Bowness Lake, or trips on boat around Lake or preserved railway line only 3 miles away.

Room Tip: Ones with a Lake View on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindeth Fell Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Fell Country House

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindeth Fell Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindeth Fell is a luxury bed and breakfast, perfectly located overlooking Lake Windermere. This is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to relax and get away, but at the same time enjoying the convenience of being a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bowness with its boutique shops, cinema and lively restaurants. Lindeth Fell is an elegant Edwardian country house, with high ceilings and beautiful architecture, stylishly restored with both period and contemporary features. There are 14 individually designed bedrooms each with its own modern bathroom with luxury amenities. Many rooms have superb lake views. Start the day with a delicious breakfast served in our sunny dining room, overlooking 7 acres of beautiful gardens. On arrival enjoy complimentary tea and scones in the lounge by the fire, or on the sunny garden terrace. Platters are available to pre order, and we have a fully licensed bar for residents. We can provide picnics for walking days, and offer complimentary passes for use in a nearby spa & pool. We provide a friendly relaxing place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Lindeth Fell Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lindeth Fell
Lindeth Fell Country House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindeth Fell Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.