We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Above the Bay

Above the Bay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Above the Bay
Save
You added Above the Bay to your Saves list
5, Brackenfield, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Views and comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Friendly owners and good value
Decided to stay an extra night because the town deserved more time

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We cannot comment on the stay because the owner gave our room away before we got there!! We booked through the tourist office who phoned and told them we were coming. We arrived in less than 30 minutes and they gave our room away! This is an act of absolute inpatience and greed and I urge others to stay away from such disappointment.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hosts.
Great location, 5 min walk from the lake.
Freshly cooked breakfast.
Pleasant rooms with amazing views from your balcony.
We would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at Above the Bay for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. The room we had was large, well furnished and clean. We had an LCD TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom had a large bath and a good shower. Access to the room was via patio doors which led to a balcony with a table and chairs. The room had a nice view of the Lake and Bowness was a few minutes away.

Breakfast was very nice, good quality ingredients were used in the full English and there was a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc.

Our hosts were lovely and made sure we had a good stay.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sthelens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel had fantastic views,it was a stones throw from the town centre and the lake.Great Breakfast your own door which led to a patio,it had everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Above the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Bay

Address: 5, Brackenfield, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Above The Bay Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.