We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwell Arts and Crafts House

Blackwell Arts and Crafts House
Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JT, England
015394 46139
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Blackwell is stunning, I have never seen a house so lovely and they had a wonderful Moorcroft exhibition that just topped my day off for me. Well worth a visit especially if you are an arts and crafts period enthusiast.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    66
    18
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hundon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful house, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have been here many times and the house and grounds never fail to delight. The house itself is quirky, on many levels. You enter by a fairly dark corridor which leads to a terrific "white" room with beautiful views over Windermere. On the left is a room with a gallery and it's a great idea to go up there as the view over the room is lovely. Up further stairs are rooms with displays which are changed regularly. There are also a couple of bedrooms which have great views over the water. I agree with Timaeus that there are new discoveries wherever one looks. The grounds are minimalistic but great for relaxing in (there are tables and chairs on the terraces). The café serves freshly cooked, high quality food and this can be eaten inside or out. The shop is small but good, with a large range of related books, glassware, pottery etc. The staff are terrific; helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, humorous. Loos are fine also.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful Arts and Crafts houses in England. I visited last year as well but the exhibitions had been changed and there was changes in the furniture lent from private collections so plenty to see. Shop and café both high quality. A thoroughly enjoyable visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I wanted to move in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Beautifully done. I don't understand some of the comments about it not being decorated 'in period' unless the author was not familiar with arts and crafts? To me - it seemed completely in period. There isn't a lot in the way of smaller objects - but I expect that is because it would have to be in glass cases which would spoil the look or there would need to be staff in every room for security. As it is, one can wander round at leisure and sit in the lovely inglenook fireplaces or window seats. The 'white room' is just stunning - it feels so comfortable and light, I could absolutely imagine living there. Also very interesting to read about the girls who went to school here. We took tea on the terrace and enjoyed the hot sun and the view over Windermere - only spoiled by the German dad who couldn't stop talking! The shop, unlike many shops in attractions, sells some unique hand made, excellent quality goods. We followed our visit here by skipping the tackiness of Windermere and going to Holehird Gardens just 10 minutes away.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beauty in every detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I might have been in another house in which attention to every detail resulted in beauty wherever the eye turned; if so, I can't remember where. At Blackwell every close look is rewarded by a new discovery, both in the main rooms of the original home, in which objects and furniture have been lovingly curated and displayed, and in the special exhibit (during out visit, Moorcroft pottery). If you're in the Lake District, a must-see.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackwell Arts and Crafts House also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Blackwell Arts and Crafts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwell Arts and Crafts House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.