We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son's 21st” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
3 Ash Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EB, England
+44 15394 48242
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Award winning dining just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere.
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Son's 21st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 NEW

Had a meal here for our son's 21st. Excellent food and service. At the end of the meal with a plate with Happy Birthday in chocolate and chocolate brownies - nice touch. The food was so good that my husband asked if we thought it would be rude if he licked the plate, managed to dissuade him. Will definately go again.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    125
    37
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 NEW

Booked in here for my wife's 50th birthday after reading many top reviews on tripadvisor.
Was very pleased, food was as described and service was friendly and efficient.
Menu is not very extensive but the quality is very good.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW via mobile

Very nice selection and great combinations. Staff friendly and attentive would definitely come here again. A little expensive but well worth it.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Beautiful food . The most amazing meal I've ever had. Beautiful restaurant and great service
Not cheap but you get what you pay for !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I was disappointed with the menu.- only Ribeye steak, no Fillet. Quite unusual choices if you like to have something different but.... I fancied fish - Haddock cullen skink for main course - not my choice or a Cod dish with ham hock which I didn't fancy. My starter Arancini was ok but a bit bland. Two others had Smoked Salmon - quite good - and a 4th Shepherds Pie which he thoroughly enjoyed. We all opted for Ribeye which was fairly pricey at £23.95 and nothing special. One of us asked for Mashed Potato which cost an extra £3,95!! We decided against one of the few desserts offered.
Unexpectedly noone offered to pour the wine so we had to pour our own. The room was quite nicely decorated.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.