We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
3 Ash Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EB, England
+44 15394 48242
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning dining just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Did not disappoint. Pig plate was awesome & egg & soldier dessert was yummy. Would highly recommend. Good friendly service too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    141
    42
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

In Windermere for a spring break --a Monday evening -- very cold and most places shut but a chance recomendation led us to Portos . 7.30PM and a very warm reception and into a busy restaurant . Could not have been better -wonderfull food , beautifully cooked , great staff - has to be the best in Bowness -would recomend to anyone .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Bowness by a mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently returned to this restaurant whilst on holiday. I booked only the day before for my husbands birthday, but there was no problem not only fitting us in but choosing a particular table we wanted.

The meal we had was absolutley fantastic, they clearly have an excellent chef. My husband had steak which he said was the best he had ever had and the rest of the meal was also top quality.

We were served by a very pleasant and efficient young waitress, and the owner or manager came over a couple of times to ask if everything was OK.

At the end of the meal my husband was present with a tray with chocolates and candle and Happy Birthday on. Nice, simple touch.

I would recommend anybody who likes good food served without fuss and a pleasant atmosphere to make this restaurant their first port of call.

THANK YOU PORTO

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely main course and desserts to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went as a party of 4 on a Thursday evening. We had not booked and they fitted us in. We chose the restaurant because of it's high reviews on this site.

We did not have starters as there was nothing on the menu that we fancied, so we were advised there would be a twenty minute wait for our main courses. We all had something different, Cumbrian rib-eye for myself, which was cooked perfectly and the accompanying vegetables were very tasty, Cod Loin. Pan roasted chicken and Porto pig plate for the other members of our party. Apparently the Porto pig plate was 'melt in the mouth' gorgeous. The chicken too was lovely but the person who had the cod loin didn't enjoy it as much.

Then on to dessert and in my opinion this really made the meal for me and my friend who both had the Apple Mille Feuille. Creme caramel and panna cotta along with apples in a sort of jelly. Absolutely to die for! Our husbands both had the cheese board and both really enjoyed this.

The one negative I would say about this restaurant was the price of the drinks, which I thought were a bit expensive. The food though, I would say was exquisite.

The point dropped is only because of the price of the drinks and I am sure when we come back to Bowness, we will return to this lovely restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a very nice meal here. The staff were friendly and the service was good, but place lacked atmosphere don't know if this was because the restaurant was fairly quiet when we visited.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.