We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Omni” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ryebeck to your Saves list
The Ryebeck
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Omni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My daughter and have coming to the for several years - on this occasion we stayed for five days and wished it could have been longer. We had room number 6 which is excellent for anyone who is disabled in any way. The bedroom is large with two windows on one wall and french doors leading out to a garden table and four chairs where you can sit out and not be overlooked. Because of all the windows the room is very light. The furniture is all built in - was only done within the last couple of years -using a lovely light light wood and obviously fitted by a craftsman. We had twin beds, very soft and comfortable and the bedding just as it should be with colourful cushions to finish off the effect. The bathroom was very spacious and there was a chair for the shower which was a boon for me.There was a disabled parking space at the side of our room which was very convenient.

There are two lounges - both with comfortable settees and easy chairs. Ideal for getting to know fellow guests after dinner. There is also another lounge containing a bar.

At the back of the house there chairs and tables(all beautifully made in wood) for sitting out when the weather is favourable! Also a fountain and pool with many different kinds of fish.

The times for dinner are staggered to suit all preferences. There is an excellent choice of menu and all different food requirements can be catered for. The food is delicious and varied and the desserts are to die for! The service is excellent and the waiters and waitresses are most pleasant, friendly and efficient.

Mark is the manager - he is very approachable and can solve any problems which may arise. The rest of the staff are most helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them.

It must be obvious why my daughter and I keep coming - now we look forward to next year!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    140
    44
    8
    4
See reviews for
50
400
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newcastle on tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Have just stayed at Fayrer Garden for 2 nights this weekend and would go back tomorrow. The hotel is fabulous, the decor superb, the food is fantastic and the staff wonderful. The setting is beautiful and the gardens lovely . Cannot recommend this hotel enough and cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — the fabulous decor and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We booked our stay through late rooms as I was having trouble finding a hotel for 'just a Saturday night' whilst attending a wedding at Storrs Hall. Really glad I chose this place, it was easy to find and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The gardens at the front are breathtaking and while you can see the lake from the rear I think the trees have grown considerably and are partially obscuring the lovely view.

Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Lovely modern en-suite, certainly an ample size for our requirements and plenty of hangers in the wardrobe (always a pain when there aren't)!

No problem getting in gone midnight however no lie in, the dawn chorus, the noisiest I'd ever experienced, woke us bright and early to enjoy the Lakeland sunshine. Breakfast was wonderful, anything you could wish for was available and excellent quality and service too.

The lady on reception was very friendly and even asked if we had enjoyed our wedding when we came to book out. We will definitely return as the standards at this hotel are excellent and the gardens are beautiful.

  • Liked — Excellent service and good value. Very clean also.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Just come back from a relaxing break at this Hotel. Stayed in a room with views over the lovely gardens which are a credit.
The Food is mostly local produce from local suppliers and dinner is very much something to look forward to, as is the Cumberland Breakfast!
Mark the Manager and Staff are very helpful and cannot do enough to make your stay a very comfortable one.
This Hotel is in lovely surroundings and guarantees Great Service and fantastic food!

  • Liked — Great Food and Wine
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

This was a surprise Honeymoon destination for the Bride.
This was a Superior Lake View Room.

On being shown to our room on arrival the write up and pictures on the website for this hotel did not do it justice. Our room was at the back of the hotel with very large windows overlooking Lake Windermere. The decoration was excellent with the Four Poster Bed and matching mahogany bedside tables and furniture. Easy chairs, coffee table and TV set in the window area to enjoy the excellent views. Complimentary Tea/coffee making facilities as well as bottles of water. The bathroom had a corner jacquzzi bath with shower over, toilet and washbasin. Luxury fluffy white towelling robes, towels and the usual complimentary toiletries.

The Dining room was in the conservatory set on the back of the hotel enabling excellent views whilst dining. Food was excellent with a good choice on the menu which was varied each night.

We decided to have a light lunch at the hotel one day which was sandwiches/salad/crisps more than plenty for one person.

The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
I would have classed this hotel as a Four Star Hotel and will be definitely come back again perhaps for one of our Anniversaries.

  • Liked — The Room and Food
  • Disliked — Some trees blocked a partial view of the lake although these were not on the grounds on the hotel.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

From the moment we arrived, the service we received at this hotel was excellent. In the restaurant particularly, there is attention to detail with a minimum of fuss; on our first night, we mentioned our son's fish allergy to the waiter, and thereafter he received fish-free canapes on a separate plate - no need for any reminders. The staff - both local and Eastern European - were all extremely helpful and pleasant.

We had a garden view room which features on the hotel website and was very pleasant - it had a small bath and slightly temperamental shower. The boys had a standard room downstairs with a shower; this had a very limited view and was considerably smaller. Nevertheless, the package - which included a good breakfast and excellent four course dinner - was very reasonably priced, and we would visit again.

From the hotel it is possible to walk to the ferry and make a scenic seven mile round trip to Hill Top; the hotel is also within easy walking distance of Blackwells, the Arts and Crafts House, and of Bowness.

  • Liked — Garden view, attentive service
  • Disliked — Breakfast time music from local radio station (quiet classical would be better!)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed for a two night weekend having booked a lake view room. We were delighted to be upgraded to a superior lake view room at no extra cost. However, we were surprised to discover that it smelt strongly of stale tobacco smoke which we were unable to remove completely even though we left windows wide open. In fairness the management display notices reminding guests of the 'no smoking' law, but obviously find it difficult to enforce!
The food on both nights was outstanding and the service excellent with helpful young staff and attentive manager. The dining room has good views of Lake Windermere and the hills beyond. We disliked the awful piped music which so often ruins a hotel's atmosphere. It is so peaceful at the Fayrer Garden and such lovely views do not deserve Doris Day at dinner nor Lakeland Radio for breakfast!! On this point, breakfast was also well presented with plenty of choice and delicious ingredients.
Good parking and pretty gardens, with a large terrace which will be very pleasant in the summer. A very relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Situation and excellent food
  • Disliked — piped music
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ryebeck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.