We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Ryebeck to your Saves list
The Ryebeck
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had our wedding at the Fayrer garden in May this year. From the moment we decided to view this hotel as a possibility to the day of the wedding itself the staff were excellent! Nicola and Candace really made us feel welcome and as if nothing was too much trouble and the rest of the staff really do deserve a huge amount of praise for how well everything just seems to come together at this beautiful hotel. The grounds and the hotel itself are so peaceful and pretty, no matter which room you are in whether it be lake facing or garden the views are unbelievably beautiful! The lounge and restaurant are both tranquil settings where you can really make yourself feel quite at home (quite possibly the most at home I have felt in a hotel) and the bar is a comfortable place to sit and enjoy a drink after sampling the delicious menu. The menu itself is quite possibly the best I have tasted and all of our guests agreed I cannot describe the food to you as I couldn't do it justice, all I will say is if your in the Lake District and looking for somewhere a little bit special Fayrer Garden will more than cater for you, those looking for afternoon tea must sample the delicious arrangement here. I guess I need to stop now as I could talk about this beautiful hotel for hours but my only negative comment would be that I didn't stay longer and we're really looking forward to returning every anniversary and the odd weekend here and there. Thank you Fayrer Garden!

Room Tip: Lake view or garden view both are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    126
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
339
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We attended for a travel zoo deal and went for an afternoon tea. The hotel was beautiful, rooms were nicely decorated and the gardens were lovely. Lake views are simply stunning! The food was delicious, cakes were fresh and tasted homemade. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help. Would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here on a travel zoo overnight package with friends. The location and the hotel itself is good but the food let it down. The staff were very friendly and polite but overall this didn't make up for the pretty ordinary food. Breakfast was better than the evening meal. Only some of the starters were good. The main courses were alright but disappointing. We were all expecting more of the stay but even at the package discount rate the stay was overpriced. Couldn't really recommend the hotel as anything special and don't plan to visit again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Sharrowbay several times, but thought we would try somewhere different, and stumbled upon this hotel.

Location is great and is close to Kendal which was worth a visit - hadn't been for several years.

We asked for a lake view, and settled upon the 3rd room we were shown. The hotel was very quiet, and not quite Sharrowbay standard (but a lot cheaper and probably better value). Food and service was great, and we will definitely return.

We stayed for one night on a DBB basis and it was great value for money.

We particularly enjoyed the toasted almond cocktails !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful two-night stay at the Fayrer Garden House Hotel. The food both at dinner and breakfast was of the highest quality. Lovely views of Lake Windermere can be enjoyed from the Terrace restaurant, the lounge and the terrace itself. The decor is an attractive blend of modern and traditional and our room was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay, half board. The food was of very good quality and we never left the table hungry. The service was good & the staff were very friendly & helpful. I agree that some parts of the hotel need some attention, decorating etc but our room was clean & the bathroom was spacious. Our bed was comfortable but it was very warm whilst there & our room got very hot so it was quite hard to sleep, would have been better if the room had air con but then it would probably have been noisy! The hotel is situated in a quiet location just out of Bowness & has lovely gardens. Overall a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lake view room,which did have a lovely view but unfortunately would have benefitted f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentre Halkyn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked the afternoon tea with prosecco (TravelZoo offer). On arrival we were offered a variety of places to sit by very friendly staff - unfortunately all the window seats were taken but we were able to move the furniture around to get a lake view. We thoughouly enjoyed the whole experience. The excellent tea finished with a superb Strawberry and Lime sorbet & Pimms jelly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryebeck 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ryebeck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.