We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - friendly staff, fantastic food, and lovely views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Ryebeck to your Saves list
The Ryebeck
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel - friendly staff, fantastic food, and lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Fayrer Garden. Like a lot of recent reviewers, we booked through Travel Zoo. This was by far the best Travel Zoo deal we've ever bought. The hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The four course evening meal was fantastic on both nights. We expected the hotel and the meal to be good, but both completely surpassed our expectations.

The hotel is situated in gardens with beautiful views over Lake Windermere, which are visible from most tables in the restaurant as well as from the lounge and bar. It is a short walk to the lake and then onto Bowness village. (I would recommend taking this route if you're on foot, rather than the direct route into the village, as in places there is no walking space and cars travel at a considerable pace.)

In sum, it's a great hotel in an excellent location. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    124
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
333
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got an overnight stay with bed breakfast, evening meal and afternoon tea for £99, supposedly at a value of over £300. Was good for the £99, but certainly not worth &300. Food looked fantastic on the website, but was a bit disappointing when it came. The restaurant seems to be aiming for fine dining with the presentation but the taste certainly isn't there yet. Lovely view from the restaurant over the grounds though. Overall a good value, but there's plenty of nicer places to stay in the lakes for the 'real price' of the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a Travelzoo deal, so we were not surprised in being allocated a smaller room than when we stayed two years ago. The room was small but with a great view of the front gardens. In the room we were conscious of a persistant noise from somehwere (Kitchen Extract below?) until quite late. Then we had the noise of selfish guests leaving the bar who obviously didn't have the manners or inclination to consider other guests. Having said that, otherwise this hotel is faultless in every way. It has a huge carpark and there are beautifully kept gardens to the front and rear of the hotel, offering pleasant walks with views of Windermere lake.
The staff are excellent and friendly. Orders for evening meal were taken by the maitre de whilst we enjoyed canapes and a drink in the bar. He addressed us by name and is absolutley professional. The staff are knowledgeable about the comprehensive wine and beers on offer. The restaurant is quiet and tasteful, again with great views over the lake. Guests are (unsurprisingly) expected to observe a simple dress code befitting such an hotel, but some guests don't have the sense of style or enough braincells to rise above jeans, teeshirts and trainers. Unfortunately, cheap offers from Travelzoo etc. does attract that level of society as well as more discerning clientel. The food was excellent and well presented.
The breakfast menu is excellent and served at the table. This was our second visit and unlikely to be our last.

Room Tip: Room 18, whilst having a great view, is a little small for two, and suffers from mechanical / human...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having booked this hotel through Travel Zoo I found it to be incredible value for money, with every aspect of the hotel, from location, to staff, to the food exceeding expectations.

Situated a couple of minutes drive from Windermere the hotel itself is beautiful, with a lovely garden overlooking Windermere where you can sit out with a cream tea in the sunshine. The staff were some of the friendliest I have come across, taking our bags from us when we arrived at 09.00, and when we returned at 14.00 the bags were already in our room! Nothing was too much hassle and they really were a credit to the hotel.

The room itself was spacious. as was the bathroom which came with a nice set of complimentary toiletries as part of the Travel Zoo offer. Dinner was absolutely brilliant, some of the best food I have eaten for the listed prices and definitely at the top end of the market place.

I look to be balanced in my reviews and offer something of fault, but on my stay there really was nothing, I would return here any time I am back in the Lake District

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February 2013.

The hotel and staff were pleasant. Staff were helpful at all times.

We did not enjoy the food. All though presented to an extremely high standard there wasn't a great deal of choice and we chose to eat out for the second night.

The upgraded room was lovely, vast and had an exceptional view of the gardens and lake Windermere. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We did have quite a serious problem with the shower and I came close to burning myself. Hotel did offer to get a plumber to the shower without question.

We would recommend this hotel for a weekend break.

Rebecca and Dale

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We bought a Travelzoo voucher so our overnight stay was good value at the discounted price, we did have a nice time and enjoyed ourselves. The hotel lounge and the cream tea were lovely as the view out was great. Our room was a standard double which was ok but the bathroom was a bit shabby, the bath panel needed fixing and there was a few black grout areas, as I am very fussy this was a bit off putting, but overall cleanliness was good. The bed was comfy and the room nice and quiet. Our evening meal was enjoyable but not memorable, the service was very good as we're the rest of the staff, very polite and helpful. Overall everything was nice for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely weekend with friends at this beautiful hotel. Room,views,staff,food,attention to detail all excellent. A very relaxing experience. This is hospitality as it used to be. Will be recommending it. Got the deal through Travelzoo but it would have been worth it at the full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryebeck 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ryebeck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.