We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini moon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mini moon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for our mini moon in September, beautiful hotel, beautiful view from the room and the bar area. The only down sides we had, we waited 4 hrs to check into our room luckily we had spa treatments booked in so we got on with them but 4 hrs is a very long time to wait to get into your room, when I complained about this as it as our mini moon they gave us a complimentary bottle of fizz with our evening meal, which was delicious meat was so tender just melted in my mouth :), day two we went out for a boat trip which was nice took 45 mins then had a coffee when we returned to our room, the door was wide open wedged with a towel! We walked right in a stood by the window in complete shock, the maid then walked in said hello and got on with the cleaning, I went straight down to reception to complain about this as it was highly unacceptable! I was stood waiting in a que then was told to take a seat and waiting another 5 or so mins for the manager, when I told him what had happened and how unhappy I was as we had left our wedding gifts in the room and my jewellery he replied, they have to leave the doors open for the cleaning supervisor to check the rooms! He asked me to check that everything was there and let him know, he then offered us another free bottle of fizz with our evening meal, nice gesture but still didn't take away the fact that they happily leave rooms wide open for someone to check, they have keys so they should just let themselves in! He then rang straight away to check that all out things were still there, which they were. The morning after we went for breakfast and waited 15 mins to be seating, once seated we waited a further 10 mins for our drinks to be ordered, we then waiting another 10 mins for them to come and for our food to be ordered, they had 4 people cleaning one table while they had guest sat down not having been seen to, we complained about this and the manager dealt with our complaint in a very nice mannor. Having had some many problems in a small amount of time we wer left not wanting to return, but the managers apology made us feel better. We would visit the hotel again so it wasn't that bad that it made us not want to go back again, the manager offered us to contact her when we return for our anniversary so she can make sure our next visit has no problems :) we would recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    406
    168
    90
    55
See reviews for
185
727
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel. Lovely friendly service, fab location and good rooms. Bathroom a tiny bit dated but clean. Reception very kindly upgraded us to a lake view as it was a special occasion. Restaurant was busy but the food was good and we were very well looked after by Tania - who managed to be everywhere at once! If you like uber-modern hotels and stylish minimalism don't stay here - but if you like old fashioned grandeur, fab service, a cosy bar and valet parking, book now!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As a thank you for helping with their wedding our son and daughter -in- law booked this break for us knowing we harboured a wish to return to the scene of our honeymoon back in 1974.

We were greeted with a welcome smile and from that moment on nothing was too much trouble. The room we had overlooked the Lake and was very comfortable so no complaints there !!
The food was as good, if not better, than we have experienced at other Macdonald hotels so again no complaints there and if fact they were extremely good.

Had the afternoon tea one day and what an experience ! Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the variety of goodies provided and don't book dinner as in our experience you won't need it.

As I said found all of the staff friendly and helpful but have to single out Tania who went that extra mile and always with a smile.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Lake is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the heart of Bowness with outstanding views from the lounge/ dining room. Booked a standard room on a Friday night for £136-- room 119(over the flagpole above the entrance)really well presented room with high ceilings and a huge bed. Bar area is really spacious and reasonably priced-- just a note for you late night revellers the bar isn't open 24 hours ---- found out when we came in from the pub next door at 2 am(probably a good thing in hindsight!!!!!).Only negative was the slow service at breakfast, took around 70 mins for cooked breakfast to arrive and when it did one of our party's breakfast was cold and when I say cold I mean cold-- no check back from the server either so didn't get chance to bring it to her attention. Other breakfasts in party were fine, tasty and plentiful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester (uk)
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip.
The parking at the hotel is a little random and the best way to approach parking is to stop on the double yellow lines outside the hotel (you wont get a ticket dont worry!) and ask for directions to the hotel car parks as they are a 5 minute walk away.
The hotel staff are pleasant and willing to help.
The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing and the suite rooms overlook lake windermere. (worth the upgrade)
The food in the hotel was good although there are plenty of restaurants to choose from that are a short walk from the hotel.
I would saty here again for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in the Suite with Balcony, fantastic setting with views over the lake, Breakfast,lunch and evening meal were all good. Robes in room had dirty marks on them. Very central for the village and its charming shops and eateries. Great walks, and self drive hire boats. nice swimming pool. Great stay for a relaxing 4 days.

Room Tip: Choose the Winander suite with balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a standard room. The location of the hotel is great. Right in the cente of Bowness and backing onto the Lake so if you were to stay in one of the more deluxe rooms you would have a fanstasic view over the Lake. Car parking is provided but is a bit haphazard. When it is busy at weekends someone parks it for you. This is fine providing they tell you where they've parked it when you come to get it the next day! We spent a while walking round the carpark only to find that it had actually been parked in a garage nearby! There are lots of staff who are friendly but the whole place does feel a little bit disorganised somehow. The bar which is supposed to be open until 1am at the weekend never appeared to be open and at breakfast we were subject to awful elevator style music. I was particularly surprised about the supplements that kept cropping up - for smoked salmond and scrambled egg, for kippers.....not what I would expect in a 4 star hotel. The room was OK. Quite small and the toilet didn't flush properly which wasn't ideal. The shower also had no pressure - just a dribble of water coming out! So all in all although it was nice enough, it didn't feel like a four star establishment. To be fair we didn't use the Spa and pool which were probably very nice. We also didn't eat dinner there so I can't comment on that either. However I just felt that with a little more care and attention it could be better

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Lake view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the shore of Lake Windermere, the historic Macdonald Old England Hotel and Spa is an ideal base for exploring the Lake District. The award-winning Restaurant offers unrivaled views over mature lawns to the lake. Four flexible business suites make the Old England a natural favorite as your next meeting or conference venue, while achieving a work-life balance is effortless at our luxury hotel spa. Inquire about exclusive use for weddings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.