We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grand old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield to your Saves list
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kendal Road | Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely grand old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for a 2 night break - B&B with dinner on one night and had a wonderful stay.

Yes the hotel is a bit dated but is currently beginning a period of renovation but this did not detract from the lovely stay. The hotel is situated overlooking browness bay and is ideally situated for a short stay -we could park the car and walk to the nearby restaurants and bars.

The hotel itself is splendidly grand and I hope the renovations do not spoil that. Our room was a standard double which was large with a full sized bathroom. A good selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc in the room and nice Laura Ashley toiletries provided.

The night we stayed for dinner was delightful and the grand dining room was a beautiful setting to enjoy the fine cuisine. The emphasis is very much on quality rather than quantity and every mouthful was bursting with flavour. Breakfast is in the form of a self service buffet and again quality was excellent. We chose the cooked breakfasts but a continental selection was also available.

The staff were always very attentive and each person seemed to genuinely care that our stay was pleasant and that our needs were their top priority without being 'over the top'.

I can't wait to return

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be lovely and grand.

As you mention, the refurbishment of the hotel has started. We are aiming to carry the work out whilst causing as little disruption as possible to our guests. In doing so, we are refurbishing seperate wings of the building at a time.

The refurbishment itself emphasises on the aesthetics of the building, both interior and exterior. However the structure itself will not be changing greatly and the hotel will remain grand.

Chef will be delighted with your comments about dinner. As you mention, we place a large emphasis on quality over quantity and chef aims specifically at providing attention to detail with flavour as appose to sending out dishes in the masses.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    206
    98
    47
    30
See reviews for
95
407
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel second week of October 2013. The room was clean and comfortable but quite dark and had an outlook onto a rooftop with extraction fans etc. The bathroom was clean and bright but small and dated.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and the outlook from the hotel over Lake Windermere was marvelous. The hotel has a great location. The staff were great but many appeared to be 'in training'.
Parking was a problem and despite the hotel having a very large carpark I was unable to find a spot and had to park in a less secure area at the rear of the hotel.
Staff told us the hotel was scheduled for a GBP4 million upgrade. I think that maybe a nought should to be added to this!

Room Tip: Pay any extra and get a room overlooking the lake. Have a drink in the downstairs bar which has gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay. The location of the hotel and our magnificent views of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond is something that many of guests often comment and we are incredibly fortunate to have such stunning, unimpeded views.

I am sorry to hear that you were not fond of your room. We have 25 rooms with a view of the lake and a further amount with a view of the gardens. As you mention in your review, we are currently embarking on a large scale refurbishment, encompassing all of the bedrooms, lounges, bar and restaurant. Not only will this refurbishment give the hotel a magnificent new look, it will also make the other rooms even more comfortable that are not fortunate enough to possess the same views.

With regards the staff, are team are fully trained. However we are always looking at ways to improve our service and sometimes this involves further training of new skills. I apologise if this process impinged on your stay.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Previous visit 1965. We had often thought we would like to revisit but thought prob too expensive. In fact although not cheap we thought very good value .The many staff we encountered during a 2 night stay were all very helpful and cheerful.
The hotel position is perfect looking over the lake with spacious well manicured lawns,shrubs with some well placed flowers. We had a bar lunch on arrival sitting out on the terrace.
It is an old building and maintainance must be a headache but it all seemed under control and was being modernised piecemeal I suspect. Our room was very comfortable with all the basic amenities at the side of the hotel. Being in our seventies we appreciated the ancient but efficient lift.
There was a very well laid out car park at the rear of the hotel with adequate space.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights where there was a good choice menu. We enjoyed our meals. There is no need to eat out !
The indoor 20 metre pool was excellent for swimming and surprisingly little used.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvsior.

I am pleased that to read that you had an excellent visit and found the hotel to be of good value. We are currently going through an extensive refurbishment and are trying to imporive our standards further along the way.

The staff will be delighted to hear that they were helpful and we are lucky that they are a cheerful group.

Thank you for your comments regarding dinner. I am pleased that you enjoyed our menu. This is constantly updated to adhere to the seasons as well as latest cooking trends and methods. I agree with you that you don't need to look elsewhere for dinner, if not for our lovely food but simply due to the fantastic views which we possess from our restaurant. Views which i believe are extremely hard to beat.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for easy access to Bowness with lovely views over the lake but it is in need of some TLC. The rooms are a good size with basic amenities but the décor is dated and scruffy. Breakfast was nice with quite a good selection but I felt the hotel was overpriced for what it is. You could make worse choices for accommodation in the area but I would try something different on a return trip

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed a number of aspects of your stay. The location is often commented on by our guests and I am pleased you found this to be beneficial, along with the unimpeeded views of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

The breakfast choice is another point that a number of guests tend to comment on. We have recently changed the menu and have started to offer a wider variety of items as well as much better quality cold buffet options. I am pleased this is something that you enjoyed.

Thank you for your feedback about the decor. Due to such useful feedback from many of our guests, we have recently embarked on a refurbishment programme. This will bring the hotel up to date with a warm, modern feeling, whilst keeping the hotels current grandeur. Each and every bedroom is being worked upon, improving and increasing the size of most bedrooms and bathrooms and we will also be having a specific focus on the downstairs areas of the building. A new bar, reception and Brasserie are being created. We will also be exploiting the beautiful view from our restaurant as much as possible with the creation of raised seating areas enabling more people to share the view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had chosen the hotel as a surprise 70th birthday weekend for my husband with all the rest of the family arriving on the Saturday afternoon for an evening meal + B and B, The staff were wonderful at going along with this and keeping the secret. Service was excellent and staff very obliging. Food was very good but little choice for the evening meal and not enough to fill the men! Could certainly have done with some dishes of veg to have helped ourselves to. Breakfast very good but do like plenty of fresh fruit to start the day. Our room was lovely and over-looked the lake. Furnishings throughout are getting a bit tired but I see the whole hotel is being refurbished over the next year. Lovely hotel in a lovely location. Wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for garden and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that the suprise was a success. I too am happy that you found the service to be excellent and the staff to be very obliging. They aim to please each and every guest and will be most happy about your comments.

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel looking tired. Due to such useful feedback from many of our guests, we have recently embarked on a refurbishment programme. This will bring the hotel up to date with a warm, modern feeling, whilst keeping the hotels current grandeur. Each and every bedroom is being worked upon, improving and increasing the size of most bedrooms and bathrooms and we will also be having a specific focus on the downstairs areas of the building. A new bar, reception and Brasserie are being created. We will also be exploiting the beautiful view from our restaurant as much as possible with the creation of raised seating areas enabling more people to share the view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed a number of times at this hotel. It is very central both for walking and touring by car, windemere boat or bus. It is an old hotel (originally an ex-gentleman's mansion I believe) with absolutely brilliant views over the lake (well worth paying the Lake view supplement). It has received some modernisation over recent years but is showing its age and could do with a little more TLC. The food is very good with an al a carte dinner menu (an allowance is given - see menu on website) and a wide varied breakfast selection. Most Important, the staff are friendly and very helpful and really make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: A lakeside view is a must. Floor two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the location and views in turn. We are incredibly lucky to have such fantastic, unobstructed views of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Many people also consistantly comment on the hotels prominent location and proximity to Bowness-on-Windermere and I am pleased to read that this was ideal for you as well.

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel needing updating. Due to such useful feedback from many of our guests, we have recently embarked on a refurbishment programme. This will bring the hotel up to date with a warm, modern feeling, whilst keeping the hotels current grandeur. Each and every bedroom is being worked upon, improving and increasing the size of most bedrooms and bathrooms and we will also be having a specific focus on the downstairs areas of the building. A new bar, reception and Brasserie are being created. We will also be exploiting the beautiful view from our restaurant as much as possible with the creation of raised seating areas enabling more people to share the view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were given a room with lake view but it was very dated and the bathroom so small. We asked to be moved and this was done very quickly and we were given a more updated room overlooking the garden. Breakfast was good, dinner not so good. The spa was not working but we enjoyed a swim in the large pool. Overall we had a lovely stay and would come again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoy a number of aspects of your stay. The breakfast in particular is something that we have been working on lately and have recently introduced a new breakfast menu that offers a wider variety of quality items that have been well received.

I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel to be dated. Due to such useful feedback from many of our guests, we have just embarked on a refurbishment programme. This will bring the hotel up to date with a warm, modern feeling, whilst keeping the hotels current grandeur. Each and every bedroom is being worked upon, improving and increasing the size of most bedrooms and bathrooms and we will also be having a specific focus on the downstairs areas of the building. A new bar, reception and Brasserie are being created. We will also be exploiting the beautiful view from our restaurant as much as possible with the creation of raised seating areas enabling more people to share the view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: Kendal Road | Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.