We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere

Save Saved
You added The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it and will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Really enjoyed out stay. The booking was handled very professionally by Vivienne and (after a mix up re the dates -my fault) Matt.
We originally booked a room without lake view but Vivienne moved us to another room (with lake view!) as there was a wedding function on. She notified us of this prior to our arrival. Although there was an extractor fan under the window it didn't bother us as we asked the night porter to turn it off when we got back to the room (we were initially told it would be turned off at 10pm -we put this down to an oversight).
The breakfast was delicious -so much to choose from and all of the staff very friendly.
It appears the hotel is currently undergoing a refurb, which is needed as some parts of the hotel/rooms are tired looking. The areas that have been refurbished look great.
The hotel has a very commanding position with a great view of the Lake. The grounds are very well maintained.
Will definitely go back - great value for money.
Anne

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post positive feedback following your recent stay at the Belsfield.I was pleased to see your comments with regards to quality of breakfast friendlinesss of staff and your appreciation of our ongoing refurbishment programme. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    135
    75
    41
    28
See reviews for
62
248
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Belsfield for three nights mid week in early July, it is a grand old hotel, full of character complete with the cranky old lift. We had chosen our room when booking and were on the top floor overlooking the lake. The room was very large, comfortable and clean and had recently been redecorated, the bathroom in contrast was looking a bit tired and you had to be very patient when getting a shower as the flow was very poor and sometimes stopped altogether.That being said the hotel location is first class, you are less than five minutes from the lake, shops and restaurants and there is ample free car parking. You need to get a room overlooking the lake as the view is absolutely tremendous and really makes the stay worthwhile. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the top floors overlooking the lake, obviously you pay premium rates for these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank tou for taking the time to give feedback following your recent stay at the Belsfield. Your tip with regards to top floor rooms offering the best views is very true and has generated more requests then normal since your review was posted. Your comments regarding the bathroom and por shower pressure will be addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Belsfield sits perched on a perfectly manicured hill overlooking Lake Windemere. It was originally constructed as a private home (nice!) so you can imagine it has some quirkiness to it not uncommon in residence turned hotels. Our room was on the main floor through the dining room. Soaring ceilings and large windows made the large room seem even more spacious. In fact, we hosted a party in our room for 20 people (we were on a tour) and everyone was comfortable and happy!
The food was very good and the dining room also overlooks the lake. The best part was sitting out on the patio watching the sunset. Fresh air and stunning views. The staff was very accomodating and the location (on the lake and a few short steps to town) was ideal. The night we arrived, it was pouring rain, so we stayed in a played ping pong in the game room. Not state of the art, but lots of fun if you are with the right crowd! The indoor pool was serviceable but not luxurious or pretty. I would go back to Bowness on Windemere any day!! You will love it! Take the kids!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed for a Saturday night for a romantic get away. We were stunned by the beautiful view and the wonderful service of the staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, Manager at The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent romantic break at the hotel. Without doubt if you are wanting to impress your partner the Belsfeld has the best location and views to create the perfect setiing for such an ocassion. Thank you for recognising the contribution of the staff.
we look forward to welcoming you back as the ocassion warrants.
Regards
Roger Jobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I always use trip advisor to look for hotels etc, so I thought it would only be fair if I started to update the site with my opinions of the stay.
2 adults and a toddler enjoyed the two day break at the hotel enroute to a break in Edinburgh. It was pricey but well worth the money spent. The staff were wonderful and very professional and the location is perfect!. If you want a no hassle break with ample parking and excellent location, seriously, book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, Manager at The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us en route with your family to Edinburgh. It is always rewarding for the staff to receive positive praise from guests and makes there work in this wonderful location even more satisfying.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
Regards
Roger Jobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Probably a lovely hotel in its heyday - ie 1950's! Although in an ideal location this hotel is badly in need of a serious upgrade - its is crying out to be redecorated and repainted. Our room was drab, dismal, dowdy and depressing, which was a shame considering the beautiful view from the window. The hotel seemed clean - but it has a jaded and tired atmosphere, all in all staying here spoiled what could have been a lovely weekend. We checked out after one hight - we won't be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, Manager at The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
We were dissapointed to read your comments following your recent stay at the Belsfield. We have rececorated the majority of the hotel including public areas,corridors & guest bedrooms In doing so we have tried to maintain the traditional feel of a Victorian building and we accept that to some people this may seem drab and dreary. We all have different tastes and expectations and we recognise what we have tried to achieve will not please every one. We are all entitled to our opinions and we respect yours.The views from the Belsfield are quite stunning and we regret you found it necessary to curtail your stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We have just returned from our long weekend at The Belsfield Hotel, where our party of 27 were very pleased with our stay. I must say that when I did a trip to the Hotel in February, I thought that it looked a bit tired. What a surprise we got this time, when we found the place much better, with new carpets fitted on the corridors. The bedrooms were clean and tidy. One of our party was unhappy that a tree obscured the view from the bedroom window - they were quickly and easily moved to a room with a full view of the Lake. The staff were attentive, polite and very helpful. The restaurant offerred us a good range of menu choice that was nicely cooked and well presented. Breakfast was wonderful.
I would be pleased to make another visit and have no problem in recommending family and friends to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, Manager at The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments following your groups recent stay at the Belsfield. We always try to make groups as welcome as individuals and it was pleasing to read we achieved this. Over the last couple of years we have been upgrading the Belsfield and it was pleasing to read how you had seen the improvements sine your earlier visit. We hope to welcome you back as a group or individually in the futeure. Thank you for taking the time to record your comments.
Roger Jobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1845, The Belsfield Hotel is Grade II listing and is the the grandest Victorian 3-star hotels on Lake Windermere, situated in Bowness-on-Windermere and less than a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Belsfield Hotel, stands within six acres of beautiful gardens overlooking lake Windermere.The Belsfield Hotel has 64 bedrooms, including 25 bedrooms with a Lake view, 12 Garden view rooms, four poster bedrooms and suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. These stunning views of Lake Windermere can be enjoyed from our impressive lawned Terrace, our Victorian verrander, the ground floor lounges and bar and our elegant Moonwaters Restaurant. Our leisure facilities include a 20 meter heated indoor swimming pool and changing faciilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.