We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kendal Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Horwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here yesterday using a Travelzoo voucher.
We received a glass of fizz, followed by a 4 course meal and a good breakfast to send us on our way. The staff were friendly and very efficient, especially in the restaurant. The 4 course meal was very good and the breakfast choice was good, including a hot buffet. Didn't get a chance to see the health club. Room was OK but had evidence of a recent water leak. TV was quite small, glad I was nearest to it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we will be repeating the offer January 2015, and hope we see you before then.

The TV's does pop up often and when replaced will have larger ones, re the leak something I will look in to.

Regards
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    287
    77
    33
    23
See reviews for
154
412
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed in the hotel jan 2014 with a half price deal £65.00 for bed & breakfast good rates,the room was lovely but cold we arrived at 1.00pm and the room allocated was cold,the weather as you can judge in the lakes at that time of year was wet and cold but when we got back to the room after the spa which is lovely.but the room was cold we rang reception where we was told that this was a problem with the boiler we then given a electric heater by reception staff,this to me is what the Blackpool landladies did 20 years ago did not what we expect of a company like Best Western.

Room Tip: Cheap but cold all bet good in spring & summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments, our heating is on a timer and can be turned on at anytime if we are made aware.
We have discussed this via email and believe the room allocated was the wrong time and you have my details with regards to a return visit.

Regards
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Had a great break at the Burnside 2013 Christmas. Staff friendly, food spot on, value for money - the location is really handy for great walks and no need to get back in the car. Room a little dated but housekeeping standards could not be faulted. The leisure centre again would benefit from updating, but staff very helpful and overall a family friendly destination. If you are looking for a family friendly hotel then look no further than the Burnside. Ticks a all the boxes in terms of standards and service. What the hotel lacks is some investment in the rooms and leisure centre- Definitely looking forward to returning during 2014

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you very much and we are looking forward to you returning.

Regards
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Got a great deal matching the Travelzoo offer, which gave us 3 nights B&B plus the Table d'Hote dinner each evening. Our experience was generally the same as the majority of recent reviewers in that the service was excellent throughout. The room was very comfortable though it was inhabited by probably the smallest flat screen TV ever (19" I guess) but then we didn't really come to the lakes to watch TV! The hotel was dog friendly, which was a key factor for us. Also we would have to agree with several other reviewers that the high speed wi-fi advertised as throughout the hotel varied from quick and reliable in the bar to non-existent in our room. Food was generally very good though we did notice that there was quite a bit of repetition particularly with the choice of desserts. On our last day however, the hotel did let itself down with the dinner served (was it the chef's day off???). One of the starters came with a burnt slice of ciabatta, the cod loin severely lacked seasoning and the creamed spinach was devoid of any creaminess. One of the desserts - the ginger and fruit sponge appeared to have been seriously overcooked with the fruit element congealed with hardened sponge to a pseudo-concrete texture. I would not expect this to be served in any restaurant let alone one in a 3* hotel generally praised for the standards of its food. Put this in context though, this was one bad meal out of six we had which were otherwise of a good standard, and well enjoyed. For that reason I considered that to mark the hotel down to a 3 would have been unfair, as but for the bad meal, it would have been rated as at least a 4 by me.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with a lake view are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments re your last night’s dinner we do apologise I was made aware the next day and reported to the Head Chef to investigate further.

The TV’s in the room when replaced will be replaced with larger ones as some rooms are very big and the TV's do get lost.

Book direct with myself for your next visit and then hopefully we can get the 4 or even a 5 from you

Regards
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the Burnside we really didn't know what to expect, and when we were told they would have to allocate us a different room as ours had a maintenance issue we really were beginning to worry.....no need, I was taken to look over two alternative rooms to ensure they fitted all our needs.We were given room 137 which was a lovely triple, my daughter had her own bedroom with a tv and we even had a lovely balcony. Whilst housekeeping were cleaning our new room we were given free refreshments which we enjoyed in the relaxing bar lounge. There is a happy hour in the bar at 4.30 each afternoon so we all enjoyed a couple of pre dinner drinks.We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, we had read mixed reviews but the food and the service was second to none, the fillet steak was amazing and is a definite must have.Breakfast was well cooked and varied and once again the service was impeccable.We would definitely return to the Burnside, we have stayed at 5 star hotels in the past and the service we received whilst there was on a par.Thankyou to everyone at the hotel for making our two night stay so enjoyable!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review, staying the same time as the previous review so Its good we do get it right and look forward to seeing you again.

THANK YOU
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the Burnside, as we checked in the female receptionist gave us our keycard then pointed us towards our room, no other information was given etc: breakfast times or venue, no spa info or where the bar was. I presumed there would be an info pack in our room but no, again no info. I found the bed in our room to be very uncomfortable, springy and lumpy. We did ask where the pool was and got the information, the pool was lovely but the changing rooms were grubby and in need of updating: broken lockers, broken showers and generally not very appealing.
The location of the Hotel and the bar and breakfast staff were very good and the communal areas were cleaned regularly. In all we have a lovely break but unfortunately would not book this Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We are dissapointed we did not meet your expectations, checkin procedure does include full knowledge of the hotel and what to do and where to go so I must apologise this was not the case and look into it further.

Regards
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

this was our second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as last time. A warm welcome, very comfortable room, great service, drink and food. The leisure centre is wonderful with great facilities. The location of the hotel is great - nice grounds, quiet but within a very short stroll of Lake Windermere and Bowness.

Yes we will be back for a third visit soon.

Room Tip: Both the rooms we have had have been at the back of the hotel and have been spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review, we will see you soon

Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel

Address: Kendal Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Lake Windermere and the bustling village centre of Bowness, the Burnside Hotel offers full leisure and beauty facilities, two restaurants, a bar and a selection of bright, modern bedrooms as well as traditionally decorated bedrooms set in beautiful grounds with stunning views of Lake Windermere. Guests have free access to our leisure facilities including a pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gym, squash and badminton courts, 2 snooker tables and relaxing beauty treatments are also available. Featuring a TV and free tea/coffee each room at the Burnside also has warm, colourful decor. Silhouettes Restaurant serves both modern and traditional cuisine, using local produce. In Harleys Bar conservatory, the Bistro provides a light menu. Guests can take afternoon tea or dine on the lake view terrace. In the Lake District, the Burnside offers free parking and is 30 minutes' drive from the M6. Shops, boutiques and restaurants in the centre of Bowness are a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside Hotel Bowness On Windermere
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.