We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kendal Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brampton, Cambs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for the Christmas Package of 4 nights from 24 Dec 2013. What a fantastic time we had, as did all the guests. The food was terrific with plenty of choice and there was plenty going on to keep us amused. The Gala Dinner Evening on Boxing Day was a great success with a great menu. The fancy dress theme was Roaring 20s and my wife won the prize for the Best Dressed Lady, she was thrilled to bits. We met up with lots of friends and we look forward to returning. The Staff are all excellent and always willing to help in any little way they can, it is so good to see their smiling faces from morning to night. They never seem to tire of looking after us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much we are glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again soon look out for some party pictures on here and our a FACEBOOK page.

HAPPY NEW YEAR

Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    197
    51
    27
    14
See reviews for
102
313
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Booked through Otel.com stayed 18th & 19th December, e-mailed the Hotel to request a modern room with a pleasant view they replied the same day & we got exactly what we asked for on arrival, room 135 on the ground floor, the room is a good size & was clean, plenty of draw space 10 hangers in the wardrobe enough for a 2 day stay, we always take our own cups & glasses with us as most places provide tiny ones but not in this case both were of a good size. They have a happy hour in the bar during the week at 4.30pm a pint of lager & a Bacardi n coke was £2.85 we took full advantage of this on both days, bar staff were polite and engaged in conversation with us. We used the pool, sauna & steam room which we loved my wife thought they needed up dating but I thought they were fine. breakfast was very good no complaints at all plenty of choice & of a good quality. We wanted to watch some football on tv they don't have sky but we found The Ship pub about a 10 minute walk from the Hotel believe it is the only bar close by with sky. The only fault I believe needing urgent attention is the pot holes in the car park not a very safe area during the night. We will return to this Hotel as it is a 10 minute walk to town, clean, WiFi free throughout, polite & pleasant staff & good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, re the car park it does need resurfacing and hopefully will be addressed.
HAVE A GREAT NEW YEAR.

Regards
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

we booked a two night stay here on a whim the hotel was really nice the food was good and the spa was very relaxing but the staff were brilliant we had a great weekend and carnt wait to return I would like to thank all the staff for a really nice stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.


MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR

From
Pauline and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had yet another fantastic stay at this hotel. All staff were friendly and very helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was cooked and presented to a high standard whilst breakfast was also great with plenty of choice. The hotel is decorated beautifully for Christmas. We look forward to our return in August when we will be joined by family and friends for our wedding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much, see you for your wedding if not before.

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR

From
Pauline and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went on Friday 13th December 2013, a party of 25. The hotel itself is lovely, with stunning views over the lake. We went on a sort of all inclusive deal for the night of which included food and drinks. The room 116 was nice with a small balcony. The bathroom was nice clean although a little dated. The food was nice although a few dishes were served cold and were sent back. Overall an excellent evening, would a return next yr yes!!!. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Room 116 was nice, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I do apologise re the return of 3 meals which I believe were replaced quickly, we look forward to seeing you again next year.

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR

From
Pauline and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

we had a great stay at this hotel great staff and facilities, the menu is a little bit limited,,i booked the hotel with galahotels.com would never use them again got charge twice for the some booking it took 6 weeks to get refunded

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Always book direct with the hotel if you see an offer better than our website shows ring and if we can confirm the offer we will match it for you.
Re the menus we have 3 menus, an early bird which is a 2 course for £12.00, a bar/bistro which is individually priced, and our 3 course TDH for £35.00 which has the 5 starters, 5 mains and 6 desserts plus coffee this can also be pre-booked 2 courses for £12.00.
Hopefully we will see you again soon
Regards
Pauline and the team
MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel

Address: Kendal Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside Hotel Bowness On Windermere
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.