We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, lovely food, fantastic staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kendal Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, lovely food, fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We got married in kendal, then came back here for a meal with our 20 guests. We stayed for 3 nights. The staff knew we were getting married and when we returned, had set a huge table for us all in the restaurant and decorated it too, they even printed menus with our name and date of the marriage! ! They also dressed a side table to put our cake on. The food was excellent, the evening meals were delicious, the breakfast was fab too! The staff were lovely and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The family room we had was modern, clean and cosy. Everyone who came with us would visit the hotel again. Thank you to all the staff for the effort they put in for us all. They made our wedding day really special and one to remember!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
It was our pleasure we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you for your anniversary.

Regards

Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    243
    68
    29
    17
See reviews for
133
360
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice Hotel in a nice location just around the corner from the Lake, Room 139 nice n refurbished, we bought this Deal on KGB and had to pay £40 supplement for the weekend ....
cant comment on Breakfast as we missed both mornings ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing your review its much appreciated.

Regards
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Burneside at the start of the awful unseasonal cold and snowy weather, and our break would have been most unhappy but for the comfort of the Burnside. Our very nice room was lovely and warm at all times and very comfortable. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff very helpful and pleasant. The breakfasts are excellent, very good quality and variety. We dined in the Silhouettes Restaurant one evening and had a good meal. Because of the weather we were unable to venture more than 5 miles from the hotel, and it was not the Lakes experience we had expected, but was completely redeemed by the comfort and excellence of the Burnside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Weather aside thank you for your lovely comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived a little early, but was ok to park car as room not ready. When did check into our family room, was told we had been upgraded, very nice. Arrived in room which was very cold, only 1 radiator for quite large room. Bedroom had slight lake view so was ok. Requested ironing board, arrived but broken so we had to mend it. Decided to stay in the bar for a bar meal, lovely food but the barman really needed to sort his personal hygiene out. Got into bed and thought we had a water bed, mattress was so soft, so had to sleep in separate beds!!!! Then the music started we were right above the bar, not such a good upgraded after all... went for buffet breakfast which was quite cold, so rather disappointing. Shower kept going hot and cold, painful!!! Went out for the day, returned to get ready for tea as we were booked in to the oneoone restaurant, disappointing meal, had lamb hot pot and was more gristle than meat. Went to have shower before meal but only 1 in bath towel, rang reception who sent up a hand towel, requested bath towel, came back again with bath mat and bath towel as he was unsure what we needed!!!! Last night had full blast music again. Really upsetting and disappointing visit as this was my valentine treat. Room generally needed up dating. We decided to go here as we always go to the red lion in grasmere, so disappointing, we will be going back to the red lion in future.

Room Tip: Don't go into 105 its right above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for writing your report I will look into the areas of concern as none of these have been reported to me during your stay, part of check-in is a courtesy call to see if you are happy with your room, at this time if not we do our upmost to rectify. I have addressed your comments made re a member of staff.
Evening entertainment is suppose to finish by 11pm so unsure why this was not the case so do apologise.

Regards
Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

KGB B & B break which was astonishing value.
Dinner taken both nights which was very acceptable.
Breakfast fine but wider selection of fruit etc would improve the occasion.
Very happy indeed with our room which turned out to be a family room on the top floor which was spacious, well decorated and very comfortable.
Enormous range of lounges all of which have clearly been uprated and the standard was very high.
Slightly disappointed with the leisure centre as the pool was small and the changing facilities need uprating.
Overall a very pleasant break and well looked after by the staff.
Just one warning. The hotel had a nice situation with good views and near the lake but there is quite a hill down to the lake which might prove a little difficult for elderly walkers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we do have two exists from the hotel the one you mention and another one which is allot flatter out to the shops I must apologise you were not told of this we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from another stay at the Burnside Hotel, booked on a KGB deal, which is amazing value for money. The bedrooms in the hotel are a little dated, but clean, spacious and comfortable. We had our 14 year old daughter with us, who was delighted to find the WIFI reached our room! There was a slight problem with housekeeping, however, I am pleased to say that the fantastic hotel receptionist and manager resolved this swiftly and proved that they value thier customers. I dont think this problem would re-occur and it hasnt put us off from planning a return trip. Breakfast was lovely, bar modern and comfortable, staff friendly and nice relaxed feeling all round. The only negative that I would say is that the pool area, although clean, needs a revamp. We did have a pleasant time in the pool, and the spa staff accomodated us at short notice, however, the pool area hasnt been updated since we first visited the hotel in 1999! If this was addressed and the bedrooms modernised, this hotel would stand out as one of the nicest in Bowness.

Away from the hotel, we enjoyed a nice walk to school knott (daughter would disagree!) and a lovely meal in the very inexpensive villa positano.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing your review as you say our customers are very valuable to us and we do get it wrong we try our upmost to rectify it as long as we are given the opportunity.

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hi, just a short note to let you know of my return visit to the Burnside Hotel.Its a full year since our last visit and really nothing has changed, really nice staff,rooms clean and beds comfortable, paint work could do with a little touch up here and there ( and this is only coming into the start of the season). We were BB and the breakfast was lovely, your usual cereals, fruit , yogurt, sausage bacon eggs hash browns tomatoes etc etc which were all fine and set you up for the day.The hotel is in a good position with lovely views and the parklands club which is part of the hotel with its swimming pool and spa, and two snooker tables upstairs is a good place to spend a couple of hours.The town of Bowness is lovely and you will fined lots of nice places to eat and some nice quaint little pubs with there coal fires blazing which was appreciated coming in from the cold.We took a ferry ride to Ambleside, but was un-impressed as it has very little in it.All in all we had a nice little break in Bowness and would certainly go back to the Burnside Hotel again. Try it.

Room Tip: Room 103 has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Pauline and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel

Address: Kendal Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Lake Windermere and the bustling village centre of Bowness, the Burnside Hotel offers full leisure and beauty facilities, two restaurants, a bar and a selection of bright, modern bedrooms as well as traditionally decorated bedrooms set in beautiful grounds with stunning views of Lake Windermere. Guests have free access to our leisure facilities including a pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room, gym, squash and badminton courts, 2 snooker tables and relaxing beauty treatments are also available. Featuring a TV and free tea/coffee each room at the Burnside also has warm, colourful decor. Silhouettes Restaurant serves both modern and traditional cuisine, using local produce. In Harleys Bar conservatory, the Bistro provides a light menu. Guests can take afternoon tea or dine on the lake view terrace. In the Lake District, the Burnside offers free parking and is 30 minutes' drive from the M6. Shops, boutiques and restaurants in the centre of Bowness are a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside Hotel Bowness On Windermere
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.