We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Half Term Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linthwaite House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Linthwaite House Hotel to your Saves list
Linthwaite House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
England
1 review
“Fantastic Half Term Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Linthwaite for a two night break with the children during Feb half term. Our children are 2 and 3 and the first hotel I had enquired with (The Cranleigh) said they had a 'No children' policy. I appreciate that some children might prove a nuisance, however, just because we now have children, doesn't mean we want to give up staying in luxury boutique hotels with high end decor and excellent service. If anything, we spend longer in the room once the kids go to sleep now so the environment in which we relax on the evening is a necessity to be high end! Linthwaite certainly did not disappoint....

The room was immaculate, spacious and with a lovely outlook. The bathroom was amazing and it was a tough choice whether to have a long soak in the huge double bath avec mood lighting or whether to enjoy a power shower in the large double shower.

The staff were very attentive and accommodating with the children. They brought our dinner each evening to the room as once the children went off to sleep after a busy day around Bowness and Beatrix Potter World, it was time for the parents to relax and enjoy the delights of the menu (and peace and quiet). The service was excellent and I feel it's fair to point out that we have stayed at some pretty amazing hotels including Oberoi, Waldorf and Raffles.... Nothing was too much trouble and we will certainly return back,,,, if it was only a little closer, then I would have felt confident that I had found a venue for my wedding (if he ever gets around to putting a ring on my finger that is..!). Thanks Linthwaite :)

Room Tip: Not sure if I wasn to disclose our room as I want it to be available next time we visit.... number 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I was asked recently whether we 'did' children. This review says it all. It's true we don't have lots of facilities for children, but the Lake District is a playground for everyone. Hotels should be able to look cater everyone. Having said that we don't get lots of children, so this is a lovely compliment for our staff.
Many thanks and we hope to see you all again,
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    136
    34
    19
    18
See reviews for
104
724
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Last year my daughter got married at Linthwaite House Hotel, it was fabulous!!!
the hospitality was wonderful, the restaurant was outstanding and we had the most wonderful day.
Last week we all went back and nothing had changed...we were welcomed by Sarah who organised the wedding, and were treated as old friends.
If you are planning a wedding or just want a pampered weekend don't miss Linthwaite.

Room Tip: The best rooms have hot tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Perfect! many thanks indeed for the lovely review; weddings or a short break, which are what we do at Linthwaite. You won't find conferences or corporates. Just people having a good time!

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again,

Sincerely

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel which my wife wants to now keep a secret as we tried to extend our break by a day but it was full. As I have said before the service, location,rooms and food are just out of this world. Nothing is too much trouble, and the staff appear as if from nowhere to make sure everything is OK without being intrusive. The food is something that has to be experienced to be believed and I could not give it full justice in a review. The sandwiches and afternoon teas are stunning and they have introduced a tasting menu in the evening which we could not turn down. The little bit extra you pay for this delightful experience is well worth it.
Anyone wanting a short break or even a week to remember will not be disappointed at this wonderful hotel and will want to keep it a secret as well as they will want to come back time & time again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow, thanks for sharing your secret!

Many people think like that of course, but hopefully even when we are busy we can make you feel relaxed and at home. That's what we try to do.

Come back soon!

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from two night stay for our anniversary. Hotel was fabulous. Staff were beyond nice and helpful, room was delightful. The restaurant was elegant and the food deserves Michelin stars. Location is perfect for exploring the lakes.

I really can't understand the FEW negative reviews left by cretins and I applaud Mike Bevans (owner) for sticking up for his wonderful hotel and his standards of service.

Can't fault it at all. Will be going back soon and recommending it to family and friends

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

2 perfect nights. One would have to be a very cantankerous curmudgeon not to be completely charmed by this Hotel. We arrived at the driveway in a heavy snow storm, our car could not make the hill up to the Hotel and the staff made valliant and eventually successful efforts to get us to the door where our welcome was as warm and welcoming as ever. the ambiance is good; the staff delightfully obliging and the Chef superb. The lounges are comfortable and relaxing and our bedroom had all the facilities we required and was in keeping with the style of the Hotel. What more could one ask?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Yes, the snow has been a challenge for Andy and his team and as you wrote they tackled it valiantly. But the show must go on....
We hope to welcome you back again soon,
Many thanks
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just had another lovely stay at Linthwaite and even awoke to a snow dusted Lake Windermere one day! We had a preferred room, in the eves with plenty of light (two skylights and a window overlooking the croquet lawn and woodland beyond). We were able to keep the room at a perfect temperature for us, thanks to a thermostatically controlled radiator. A plug-in radiator was at our disposal too, but wasn't needed. The room was spacious, tasteful and spotless, as was the bathroom, although a separate shower cubicle (rather than over bath) would have been nice for the price listed for this room. The food was once again delicious and as pretty as a picture. The decision of what to choose each night was a tough one, and everything we had (or saw on someone else's table) was a treat. The main thing that sets Linthwaite apart however is the warm welcome and attentive, yet unstuffy, service. We were never referred to by room number, but usually by our names. We had actually gone on a "January sale" this time, and were certainly not treated any differently from when we payed list prices. Well done, once again!

Room Tip: Room 30 is a Preferred double, and lovely. It overlooks woodland, but is very light and airy.Also th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. I am delighted you mention the names not numbers thing about how we communicate with guests. I love to be called by my name especially when staying at a hotel or in a restaurant (I'm not a Sir); don't we all?
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've just returned from our third stay at Linthwaite and have always enjoyed it. We got engaged there in 2008 and have had two subsequent stays, all on special offer rates (either half price or dine free) and have always dined at the hotel. The drinks and food are quite expensive but are excellent and on these rates we feel that we are getting reasonable value for money and view these weekends as a treat to ourselves for a touch of luxury! The views from the lounge make the extra cost worthwhile and there is never any pressure to buy more drinks, you can quite happily sit for a long while with one if that's what you want to do.
We enjoy walking and have found several walks in the area that can be done straight from the hotel. Afternoon tea is excellent but we have found it best to have it on the day of departure as it's a bit too much to have on a day when you're also having dinner. I'd advise booking for this as occasionally we haven't been able to get in for afternoon tea when we've just asked on the day (this is our fault as we'd assumed weekdays would be quieter).
I note previous comments about portion sizes - we are both pretty big eaters (especially after a walk on the fells!) and have always felt that we got enough food, and in fact have been offered more bread at dinner and more toast etc at breakfast on a regular basis.
Overall I would really recommend it as somewhere to go for a treat, but I think you have to accept that it isn't going to be cheap - although the service and location make the cost well worth it in our opinion!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review again and the comment you make about as being not cheap is true, but as you point out you pay for what you get!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future,

Yours

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linthwaite House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House Hotel

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Linthwaite House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linthwaite House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.