We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moon on a stick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linthwaite House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Linthwaite House Hotel to your Saves list
Linthwaite House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Moon on a stick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We have just come from a brief stay at Linthwaite that was booked last minute. Having stayed at this excellent hotel before, it seemed the perfect choice to break our journey home from a trip to Scotland. We opted for the newly refurbished room 21 (with hot tub), and WOW we were not disappointed. The room is simply gorgeous, the hot tub and terrace are perfect, the views amazing (as always). We could not have been more delighted if someone had given us the moon on a stick.

The food at Linthwaite is ALWAYS a highlight - I'm vegetarian and the variety and quality of the options I'm presented with at this excellent hotel are the best I've ever experienced. I'm pleased to say this visit was no exception and we enjoyed every bite of the food we were served (not to mention some smashing wine).

Service, as always, was the perfect balance of couteous, efficient and friendly. Andy and his team do a brilliant job and their ability to maintain these standards in commendable.

If you are considering a stay at this outstanding place, take my advice and get booking - you'll be really glad you did.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Wow - the moon on a stick. Would it taste of British cheese as we serve at Linthwaite?
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to tell the world about us.
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    136
    34
    19
    18
See reviews for
104
724
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The cleanliness thriough the hotel was excellent, not a speck of dust to be seen.
The bathroom shone, the bed was extremely comfortable and there were facilities for tea and coffe and a large selection of dvd's in the room.
The food, although minimalist, was good, enjoyable and well presented. The breakfast choice was very good and cooked to order.
Staff were attentive and helpful.
A very pleasant stay and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Many thanks for your wonderful review.
i am particularly interested in your comments about the dinner being minimalist.
We are designing a new a la carte menu which will include many British classics; simpler dishes beautifully cooked and with ample vegetables for the main course such as roast chicken with all the trimmings, and grills, even steak and top class chips.
I look forward to your reaction,
many thanks
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We had a lovely stay here with our son (1 year old). The house is full of homely charm, much nicer and relaxed than hotels we have stayed in. The majority of hotels in the lakes are all rather tired and dated, the Linthwaite is a cut above the rest with contemporary yet in-keeping bedrooms and true country home decor to the reception rooms. It has been furnished to a very high standard, retaining the charm of a country residence-not really a hotel.
We had a yummy cooked breakfast and the staff were extremeley attentive, especially with our troublesome toddler, ensuring we felt at ease.
Room prices are high but no where in the Lakes is cheap. Yet in saying that we would pay the price again to stay here over other hotels in the area.

Just to add, the gardens are immaculate, the gardener (who we met and had a chat to) should be commended on his work! :)

Lovely stay, thank you

Room Tip: Superior double rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were particularly lucky as far as the weather was concerned but you could just as easily hide away by the fire in Linthwaite as you could enjoy the sunshine and the views from the garden.

The whole atmosphere is friendly and relaxed yet attentive service is always to hand. If food is an important feature in your holiday experience, you're in for a treat. Not pompus or over-fussy but fine dining served in a formal-but-friendly way.

Age-groups varied when we were there, although it's less likely to appeal to young familily or action-seekers as the whole idea is to wind down when you visit Linthwaite or use it as a base from which to explore by day and "come home" for a soak and the bath and a nice dinner.

It's obvious that there's an unseen team making it all happen so it's unfair to single anyone out - however it was Ben who (mostly) looked after us at dinner and it gives me a smile as I imagine him in equal measure blushing and beaming with pride when I say that he is a young man who is serious about delivering what Linthwaite is all about. He was quick to flatter his colleagues when given any compliments about the food or service and clearly proud to be one of the front line staff so let him take this moment of glory on behalf on the whole team at Linthwaite.

Room Tip: Special offers represent great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We held our daughter's wedding at Linthwaite House Hotel on Friday 29th April 2011. Along with Kate & Gino our daughter and son-in-law we can say without doubt the whole affair was superb!

The staff Andy, Kate, Sarah, Ian, Simon (and anyone else involved who's names we have failed to mention) were incredible. The food, the rooms, the service were second to none.

I only wish we could do it all over again with all the wonderful people at Linthwaite and our fabulous guests! Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
10 stars: good enough for me! Wow, thanks.
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Linthwaite House over the Bank Holiday weekend - and I have to say immediately that this is one of the very best establishments we have ever had the pleasure of visiting.

We were, of course, lucky with the brilliant weather (and let's face it - everywhere looks better in the sunshine doesn't it?) The views from the hotel and its grounds of Lake Windermere and surrounding hills were simply breathtaking - and we were delighted to spend time relaxing by the summerhouse at the hotel's own tarn (never seen so many tadpoles; thousands of 'em - a real David Attenborough moment!)

The hotel itself has an air of quality everywhere you look; classy but understated. Top quality furnishings give an impression of a very comfortable country house rather than a hotel - quite an achievement. There is nothing 'chain' about this hotel; it has a rare air of individuality and is refreshing for that alone.

However, where Linthwaite really comes into its own is in the superb service offered by every single member of staff; bright, cheerful, informative, attentive - but never over-the-top or in your face. It's probably one of the most difficult things for any establishment to get right; but here they have got it right - in spades.

If you've been thinking about staying here - waste no more time and get it booked (It's a decision you'll not regret!) For us, we're looking forward to our next stay. It's not cheap (far from it) - but a stay at Linthwaite is worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scot
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This is one of the best hotels we have visited.

We stayed in a standard room which was small but everything in it was top quality. The service was faultless and meals delicious. Pricely but we got a good deal and will certainly return

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Linthwaite House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House Hotel

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Linthwaite House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linthwaite House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.