We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Royal Oak Inn
Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EG, England
(0)15394-43970
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Tel: 015394 42970
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice tasty beer served here, good staff also. Pool table, juke box. Proper pub. Lovely in late afternoon in the sun outdoors. Rooms available also.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    82
    27
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Typical pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Your typical pub food. Reasonably priced. Fast service & pleasant staff. Nice friendly atmosphere. dogs welcome

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Super food! Super stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed in Bowness many times and eaten at The Royal Oak many times. First time ever that I have stayed over night at the place. The staff our so freindly and try to accomodate in any way possible. The little touches in the rooms, such as toiletries was very much appreciated. I booked last minute and was lucky to get the last room for the night. I was informed this room was not en suite and that I had to share a bathroom on the landing with one other room. I was fine with that arrangement as it was set out brilliantly. All toiletries were set out with towels and even robes so as not to feel uncomfortable when nipping out of your room through the night to go use the bathroom. Breakfast was absolutely delicious!! My partner does'nt eat meat but a veggie option was on the menu. Throughout the day snacks and specials are on offer at very reasonable prices and very tasty. Can't fault the place a greal all rounder!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great pub,food really good.everyone made to feel welcome. Love to see that dogs are allowed ..... after all they need to recharge their batteries too. Would highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Nice Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited three times over Bank Holiday weekend. Only ate on the Friday, and food perfectly fine. I had a very tasty fish and chips, my partner took lasagne. All washed down with excellent Conniston Bluebird Bitter. Dropped in again on Saturday and Sunday -- drinks only, but pub did the business again. Very nice pub, good ales, friendly staff, and an interesting selection on the jukebox -- not too loud though. Noted it was dog friendly, and my partner fell in love with a couple of lurchers on the Saturday night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.