We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Fortune

Golden Fortune
21 Lake Road | Atkinsons Arcade, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
015394 48833
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was busy so we were asked to wait n it took ages to be offered a drink while we waited. Food ordered it came straight away, was average food but the waiters kept getting mixed up who ordered what n gave tables the wrong food? Not sure what went wrong there but no problem we did get ours right. I thought for what we had it was over priced as nothing special inside. Would go back maybe for takeaway

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    52
    20
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good quality takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited last year for a sit-down dinner, which was very good, but this time it was for take away. I would say the quality was good, though not exceptional, and the portions were smaller than we are used to in our home town, for instance soup came in a really small carton, where we are used to large cartons that will easily feed two from our local restaurants, and this seemed a bit stingy considering top prices being charged. Based on overall quality and portion size, I would say it was quite expensive for a takeaway, but then again everything is expensive in the Lakes, so I guess you have to make allowances for tourist pricing. Our food was ready when we arrived to collect, so no problems there, and overall I would still recommend, but be aware of portion sizes and order accordingly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a take away from here last nite and was gorgeous. Food was lovely and service was great. We will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a table for the night as we was told it gets really buisy me and 3 other friends ,it was very dissapointing we ordered a few starters one of them been half duck and pancakes we got one 1/4 a few minutes after ordering which was a little worrying but we went with it then young man that greeted you on the door came straight across and said sorry the chef had got it wrong and they brought us another leg about 10 mins later ,we also ordered a few main meals so we could share we found the steak dish very chewy and was very dissapointed would not go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I am here and have had such a great meal that I had to review it immediately. This place is comparable to some of the most authentic Chinese restaurants in Hong Kong. The service and food has been amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Fortune also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Golden Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Fortune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.