We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plentiful Portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
+44 15394 43731
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Village Inn, has recently been taken over and given a complete refurbishment. This amazing transformation must be seen! We serve food from 12pm until 10pm, serving fresh salads, homemade pasta, locally sourced meats on the grill, and amazing homemade cakes and desserts. Our modern and trendy bar offers beers from around the world with a great selection of wines, spirits, brandies and our freshly made cocktails. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness on Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Preston, Lancashire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Plentiful Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A good tip would be to book if you want to eat here. This place came recommended by our guest house host.

We walked in off the street to be told they were fully booked. Although the next table booked out was only 8pm and we arrived at 7pm. We suggested that we could eat there and then if they could accommodate us. Asking if we would be out for 8 we quickly replied, yes that wouldn't be a problem!

We really enjoyed eating here and it had a great atmosphere.

I ordered the Hanging Chicken Kebab and ow boy was this tasty! I thoroughly enjoyed it and there was plenty on my plate. My partner ordered mussels for his main and again he was salivating! The portion was more than enough but his sauce the mussels came in was that good he was scooping it out of the pan with the shells! He did not want to leave a single drop of it!

Reasonable prices and good service even though they were extremely busy.

Would we go again - yes definitely, but we would book next time to guarantee a table.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for your great comments! It always puts a smile on all of our faces to hear how much our food and service is appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    244
    109
    63
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not good at all!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had dinner here on a Friday evening in February. We were seated quickly and provided with menus, the serving staff also had knowledge of the food suitable for those on a gluten free diet which was good. However, the food was no better than average and service was truly terrible. Having sat with empty plates for 10 minutes after finishing our main courses there was then a 40 minute wait after the plates were cleared in which we were not offered a dessert menu or given any attention at all. After waiting this long we gave up and asked for the bill which still took longer than normally expected to arrive. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone and will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are glad to hear that you were seated so efficiently and the staff had good knowledge of the dishes suitable for your dietary requirements as I know from experience that this doesn't tend to happen everywhere.
We have been spending a lot of time training our staff so they are ready and best equipped for the busy season ahead. Unfortunately, 1 of the members of staff in training did not make the grade and is no longer with us.
Upon reading your comment about the food being below average, my only thought is that you must have very high expectations for a bar and grill - as that is what we are. We use fresh produce which is thrown on the grill or deep fried to order. It would be impossible for us to serve the food any fresher or with any more local ingredients as, wherever possible, our ingredients are sourced locally.
The Village Inn is a unique bar and grill in the Lakes which has an atmosphere and great ambience with a bit of a vibe coursing through it.
We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with my friends and ordered their pork ribs with barbecue sauce. I could not taste the pork anymore as it was smothered in the sauce. Did not enjoy that experience at all.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
The sticky BBQ ribs are just what they say on the label. They are belly pork ribs dripping in a sticky sauce.
We are currently in the process of updating our menu and I had wanted to change the sticky ribs but the feedback I got from staff and customers alike was 'Don't do it!'. We sell thousands of the sticky BBQ ribs dish every week and it is one of our biggest selling dishes.
However, I do understand that food is a very personal thing. The reason I wanted to remove them from the menu was that ribs are not to my liking, but with such a large menu, I just wouldn't order them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We ate here twice during two separate visits to Bowness in the month of January. It is fast becoming our favourite eating place in Bowness. Food quality was excellent with good size portions so hard to fault. My wife had the fillet steak skewer which was so good on our first visit there was no question of her trying anything else when we returned a few weeks later. I had the rump steak on my first visit and it was very good. I tried the chilli with chips next time and wasn't disappointed. We were told they don't accept bookings so you put your name down and wait in the bar till called. I can imagine this might be a problem during busy nights in the summer but we didn't have long to wait and it was fine sitting in the bar with a drink. We found the service to be good as well. We have been in before just for a drink and enjoyed that too. The decor is modern so maybe not to everyone's taste. They have a good selection of beers and spirits (vodka in particular) and do cocktails although they seemed expensive (over £11 for a Brandy Alexander!). We didn't try any so can't comment, maybe they are worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Wow, it is great news that we are becoming your favourite place in Bowness! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“rain day lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

on a wet Saturday we went into village grill for lunch.have been before for drinks and it was very nice atmosphere so decided to go back,we were not disappointed.restaurant décor really nice,and so was the food.presentation really nice food very good .staff very attentive without going over the top.highly recommend ,window seat fantastic to watch all the tourists passing .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for your great comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon for some more great people watching!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.