We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chips in ages!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
+44 15394 43731
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best chips in ages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Ate lunch here today after a bit of shopping. Prompt service even thought it was busy. Mussels were great but the hand cut chips that came with my gammon steak were the best I've had in ages - I had to fight the family off as they all loved them too. Kids ham sandwich and chips was a ver generous portion for a little one. All 4 for us cleaned our plates.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic lunch at the Village Inn - we hope our tasty chips didn't cause too much fighting!
We hope to see you again on your next shopping spree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    275
    120
    71
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Starter and Mains but Dessert Was a Let Down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My Wife and I had a very enjoyable meal in the Village Inn. This was our second visit, first eating there in April 2012. The mussels we had for our starter were excellent and had lots of flavor as did our main courses. It went a little down hill from there though as the dessert we ordered seemed to have been left out and had dried up a little. It was a shame that the meal ended on a negative but I wouldn't let it stop me visiting the Village Inn again next time we are in Bowness.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Village Inn. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the food. We are very proud of our homemade desserts, both for their flavour and visual appeal, which is why we have a large display fridge in the middle of the restaurant to show them off, therefore, it saddens me to hear you did not enjoy your dessert.
We look forward to seeing you again soon for some more great food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent! staff are lovely, the pub interior is a high standard, fab attention to detail like nuts on the bar,food was excellent,I am a very fussy person and you cannot fault the food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. Having invested a great deal of time and effort into the little details - like the nuts on the bar - it is delightful to hear that these are appreciated. All comments are passed onto the staff, and the chefs will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shocking !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Service was terrible !! They let us order then came back 20 mins later and said we haven't got this and this basically half the menu !! So we ALL reordered !! Then we got one of our mains and one starter ! then we had to wait an hour and half for our mains! So we got up and left !!! Staff need training !! Hopeless haven't got a clue !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Here at the Village Inn we are committed to providing good quality food to all of our customers and the only way we can achieve this is by using fresh ingredients. Therefore, when we are as incredibly busy as we were on Saturday 6th July, when you visited, there is a chance that we will run out of fresh products. I am sure you would much rather choose an alternative dish than receive food that had been sitting for several days.
All of our staff are highly trained and committed to providing excellent service to all of our customers. This is, of course, within the parameters of being an exceptionally popular and busy bar and grill - not a fine dining restaurant.
As there was only 1 table that walked out on this evening, we are aware of the circumstances surrounding your comments. The mistakes made were unfortunately down to the ordering of the food. We can't be held responsible for diners who think a cold platter that contains hot smoked salmon therefore means the whole platter should be hot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stood for 20 minutes to be simply ignored by every member of staff in there. Terrible and ignorant service. Much enjoyed a meal at a nearby restraunt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.