We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Gem"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added May Cottage to your Saves list
May Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"A Gem"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at May Cottage! We are never let down by the hosts Sue and Len. Well situated, plenty to do......and can't wait for our next visit! I think every season is so different. Daffodils in full bloom everywhere. May Cottage is a Gem!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
119
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just returned from a 2night break /honeymoon at may cottage.what a lovely place to stay ,spotless well decorated throughout.Lovely sue & Len made us really welcome couldn't do enough for us .Stand ins Jackie & bill for the day were lovely aswel nothing was too much trouble would love to stay there again.Gill & Steve. From Wigan,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our second visit to May Cottage and we cannot imagine ever staying anywhere else in Bowness ever again. Len and Sue are amazing, nothing is too much trouble. Lens' breakfast is a Super League winner (!!) ..see what i did there? and Sue is a fantastic and entertaining host. Rooms are spotless..I didn't want to give my key back ( there you go Sue xx)
Absolute ideal location
Cannot wait to go back and visit again

Jayne & Paul

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have just returned from a short stay in May Cottage. This is an exceptional Bed and Breakfast located within walking distance to all amenities. Sue and Len went out of their way to make us feel welcome and nothing we asked was any trouble. We stayed in room 1 which was so cosy and well furnished. Breakfast was lovely and really set us up for the day. We will definitely return to May Cottage hopefully very soon .
Many thanks for everything ..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just got back from a lovely stay with Sue and Len at May Cottage. The room and bathroom were very well kept, the bed was comfortable, the temperature was perfect and we felt refreshed in the morning having had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was delicious and charged us up nicely for the day ahead! There was no shortage of small adventures for us to embark on while we were there as Sue offered some great suggestions for activities based on her excellent knowledge of the area. The hosts were very friendly and entertaining. Highly recommend staying here if you're looking to take a trip to Bowness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have just got back from a lovely stay at May Cottage, Sue is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble. The English breakfast in the morning is nothing short of tremendous! The rooms are spotless, as are the en suite bathrooms. It is ideally situated to walk into Bowness which is just at the bottom of the road as is Lake Windermere. We really could not fault this place and cannot recommend it highly enough!
Will & Denise

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Myself & husband stayed in the budget room a last minute booking, Hubbies first time to the lakes. Sue & Len made us feel right at home nothing was too much trouble. Even lent me their mobile phone charger as I'd forgot mine, with 2 boys at home wanted easy contact. Breakfast was brill lovely friendly chat over a lovely cooked breakfast thanks Len!!!! This B&B is well situated easy walking distance to lakes, town and of course most importantly pubs. I loved the comfy bed and it was fantastic to have good old fashioned blankets & not a quilt on the bed. Would we go again ... the answer is simple..yes...,

Sue just to let you know I got my crisp picker (gadget) for Christmas I'll bring it with me nxt time a come and stay.. Gadget competition is on :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — May Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three ensuite rooms & one Budget room within our family home. (We are not a Guest House or Hotel.) You are welcome to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.